Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Musty smelling room. Breakfast ok but cooked food mostly disappointing. Wouldn’t stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Good day, It really is difficult responding to a review when you have no idea who you are addressing. It should be compulsory for guests to leave their names and dates of stay at an establishment. We are however sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that the rest of your vacation met your expectations. Kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York.UK

Relaxing,with great views

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Quiet relaxing ,with great views
Location: Close to the centre and Marina,about 15mins walk. Boat trips,restaurants,nice scenic walks,and Thesen Island
As it mentions,Hidden away overlooking the Knysna bay and estuary. Well run by a very friendly couple,who will help with local activities and where to dine and visit. Large rooms with fridge,satalite tv,and wifi.rooms overlooking the bay have a veranda to sit out on, small swimming pool with lounges and a small gym are available too.Very nice cooked breakfast too. Great place to stay if you are in Knysna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello Mick Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. After reading a previous review in which the writer did not enjoy the breakfast or the room, we are delighted that this was not the case with you and your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Knysna - and Hide Away - in the not too distant future. Take care and kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by ADRIAN

Highlight of Garden Route trip.

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was a highlight of our trip along the Garden Route from Port Elizabeth to Capetown. We would certainly stay there again on future trips. Our highest recommendation for a first class B & B stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello Adrian Thank you indeed for the very kind words about your stay with us. We hope to see you back! Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by SteveNZ from Wellington, New Zealand

Lovely B&B in Knysna

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent B&B with very friendly and helpful hosts. Large room. Great facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello there Thanks so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. We hope the wedding goes off well and the weather plays ball. Here in Knysna we had great rain last night so everything is looking clean and fresh again. Kind regards to all. Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by Noam

Friendly and welcoming

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great time, would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Knysna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hi there Noam Thanks for the quick review of your stay with us. Since your stay, the outlook from Hide Away has changed somewhat as a result of the fires we experienced on 7th June. The lovely conifer trees in the car park have not survived and so we are looking at alternative options to take their place! Hope to see you back in South Africa again - not in 13 years time! Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Delightful accommodation in Knysna

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Characterised by touches you'd normally only expect to find at a top class hotel - cool face towels and tea/coffee on arrival, bathrobes and slippers, and quality toiletries. Hostess was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Although located close to a very busy main road, noise intrusion was minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Good morning Joe Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us. We are always greatly encouraged to receive positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the world and obviously to Hide Away Guest House. All the best and kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
4 out of 5
by Philip

Room with a view!

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Our host Colleen made us very welcome at her Guest House. She provided great advice on excursions and places to see as well as restaurants. Our room was a good size and opened put onto a veranda which had fantastic views over the lagoon and out to the heads. Breakfast was delivered to the veranda each morning which was a nice touch. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amin

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great n cosy stay! View was fantastic and breakfast was fresh n good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the short but great review. It is most encouraging to receive positive feedback. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
by Stewart from Sevenoaks

Garden Route meander.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Driving down the garden route this made a very welcome stop for a few days with good food in the town lots of day trips to interesting places. Location was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Stewart Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the time with us and hope to see you back in the not too distant future. South Africa just has so much to offer, but a return to Knysna, is always a must! Take care and kind regards. Cecil & Colleen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremantle, western australia

A happy Hide Away

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: I like the position and the friendly ambiance
Location: Location excellent. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We were also told about the Elephant Park and Monkeyland
We found Colleen and Cyril very friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a gorgeous view over the ocean. Definitely highly rated as a place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Hello Gill Thank you for the 5 star rating of your stay with us! Positive feedback is most appreciated as we continue to deliver the same high levels of service. We hope that you have plans to return to Knysna and Hide Away as it would be great having you with us again. Kind regards Cecil & Colleen