Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Emily

Worth every penny!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Love it , love it , love it!!! Staff are fantastic , food was excellent , animals where awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room and wifi not free

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty an very old things WiFi not free... You must pay for data from them more than 30mp !! It is Dangerous as one man was attacked from the Animals ... I killed Some Spiders also in my room!! The room was very cold at night The price was not fair
5 out of 5
by Claudia from Québec

a very pleasent surprise!

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Well for starters, there was a girafe present for the tour of the lodge! Honestly this lodge was the highlight of our two week trip. The safari was great the room was big and clean (every thing look new).We had a giraffe sleep next to our room (how amazing I that). There was a Meercat who greeted us at our doorstep! It felt like the lion king movie haha! Oh yeah they have two bush pigs hanging around that are also very nice! I highly RECOMMEND this place, the staff was great and the food (we had supper and breakfast) was great. Our dinner was taken right next to a pond where the animals come and drink. By far the best supper (scenery & food) of my vacation!
5 out of 5
by Emma from Cork, Ireland

Superb, value 'Safari Lite' for Families

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic place for a family with kids, a 'safari lite' if you like. They have a tame giraffe, a hilarious pair of warthogs, enough wildlife for a good quad bike safari and an early morning nature walk, both of which we did. They have small swimming pools, good food and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful couple of days at Nyaru, and also went into Mossel Bay a couple of times to eat which was excellent too. This is NOT a Big Five Safari, but once you have the right expectations, you will love this quirky but professionally run, family Safari Lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SA

Game lodge with a surprise

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Cons: Pool area can be improved
Location: Close drive to Mosselbay and I would recommend swimming at the natural tidal pool formed between the rocks at the Point (behind the ice-cream vendors)
From the moment you enter the reserve you will be surprised by "Ayanda" the tame 2yr old giraffe who is always roaming around the accommodation and definately not camera shy. "Rafiki" the cute meerkat was also always close by with the two warthogs not too far behind. The rooms are pleasant and the staff was very friendly and engaging. Would definitely recommend this lodge for a one or two night stay and although they do not have the big five, having such a close encounter with a giraffe is a memorable experience.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided from De wet from Steelpoort

Nyaru Lodge

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location, comfortable room, good facilities but food cab improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Four Star! (Officially rated three)

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Thank you for making our South Africa visit that much more special! We arrived and were not only greeted by friendly staff but wild (friendly) animals too! It was fantastic - my New Zealand partner was wowed! The room was clean, fresh and just what we expected from a game lodge plus more! Quite frankly, we were surprised this hidden gem was only rated a 3 star. We normally only stay in five star accomodation and we were impressed by the lodge - we'd rate it a four! We have no complaints what so ever! The staff were accomodating when we turned up with an additional guest. The food was authentic but still enjoyable for foreigners (I'm South African but my partner is from New Zealand). The resident meerkat was more than friendly and such a great little addition to our stay! The quad bike safari was amazing! We were able to get close but safely up to the wild life - our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. And the quad bikes were a lot of fun too! We couldn't recommend this lodge more!! Exceptional! Thank you!
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from York uk

Perfect

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great place, very welcoming, went on a quad bike safari with Malcom... Great, well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by monica from Kuils River

good

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
we enjoyed our stay very must - just a pity our TV in our room did not work being the rugby world cup it was a bit of a slept- very friendly staff and food was excellent will definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by Andrea from Canada

Amazing retreat

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Nyaru game lodge for one night during our trip (honeymoon) in South Africa. The staff were friendly, the food was good, the rooms were the best part! They were so cozy. The guide was very knowledgeable and took us for a tour on 4x4's which we were able to see giraffes, zebras, impalas and other animals. The owners are a friendly young couple! We'd recommend this lodge to others who like a quiet, peaceful getaway.