Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Center of George

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: It was close to relatives that I was visiting
Cons: I don't think anything could be improved because they would need to build more facilities
Location: In the center of George.
The hotel didn't have a pool or restaurant. Only breakfast that wasn't included. The room was very small but clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Gail, Hotel Management
Dear Gillian Thank you for placing your review. Our central location gives us the advantage that there are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We also offer bill-back facilities with four of the restaurants. Room service is available as well. We hope that you may visit us again. Yours sincerely
4 out of 5
by Julian

Business trip

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
A quiet hotel with a homely atmosphere. Only breakfast is served in the dining area, however several restaurants are situated directly opposite the hotel. These restaurants have a room delivery service. Free WiFi is available in all rooms, to a maximum of 500mb per day. Additional WiFi connection needs to be purchased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017
Dear Julian Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, we enjoyed our time in George, however we were somewhat disappointed with the hotel. Firstly, on the day we checked in, we had to pay an additional fee for secure parking (even though the secure parking lot was practically empty) and there had been no mention when we were booking that an additional fee would apply if we wanted secure parking (or at least not that i recall). Second, we discovered that our bathroom bin had not been emptied by housekeeping after the previous client checked out. When we got back on the second night, there was a horrible smell coming from the shower and sink drains. Lastly, the one mug on the tea service tray in the room had some gunk at the bottom of it :( The staff were friendly though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017
Dear Anonymous Thank you for placing your reviews. We offer secure parking as an option but there is plenty parking also available in the public parking areas in front of the hotel. We apologise if this was not mentioned to you by your booking agent. The issues you had in your room are completely unacceptable and most certainly not the normal standard of our hotel. We wish we had known of these incidents while you were still here. We are doing an in-depth investigation into this. Being an anonymous review, does make it somewhat challenging to pin point but we will still be meeting with all STAFF and addressing these issues. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Yours sincerely,
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Slightly Below Average

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The negative: There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly. The walls are also very thin so be be prepared to hear every conversation that passes by your room. My bedroom was next to the outside walk way which meant that if one wants privacy one has to close the curtains but that makes the room very dark even with all the lamps on. The positive: The parking is definitely worth the extra R35 and the location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017
Dear Kevin Thank you for taking the time to place your review. It seems we may have fallen short in some areas during your stay and apologise for this. This is absolutely not our normal standard and I can assure you we are immediately attending to this. For future stays, we shall allocate a room that will allow you more privacy. Lighting in the room has already been addressed. Your feedback assists us in improving areas where we may be falling short. We appreciate your feedback and hope you may visit us again when you find yourself in the area. Yours sincerely.
4 out of 5
by Rene

Safe and Convenient.

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were friendly and allowed late check-in and security was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rene, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our staff are feeling freshly inspired by your comments, thank you for that!
4 out of 5
by Archibald

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Archibald Thank you for taking the time to review our quaint hotel on Expedia. We truly appreciate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Average hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Cons: It would be nice if the shower had a curtain or a door so the bathroom floor would not get all wet.
Location: The Robertson Brewery is right down the street.
This chain is owned by Marriott, which seems to mean it is more expensive than other local hotels or brands, but that's about it. We were offered a welcome beverage which was nice. Other than that the accommodations were very average, even outdated. There are other hotels in the area that look like nicer options at a lower cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laura Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews. We hope that you may return soon to experience the changes we have now made to the showers and floors. Look forward to welcoming you and showing you true hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Sophia

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
it was a lovely experience. The staff are warm and friendly. Thanks to Naeesha, Strealza and Candice for making my experience worth while.
5 out of 5
by David Francis from Halifax

Golf base camp

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect base for golfing trip with your own room at a reasonable price and great breakfast
3 out of 5
by Marlene from Wellington, New Zealand

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Paid extra for secure parking, which was worth it. Comfortable, clean room, but our room was located in noisy area of hotel. Had no towels one day, due to a laundry problem. Received some at 7:30pm that evening. Had four extra drinks on my account, which wasn't mine. It was eventually removed from my account.