Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely view

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Newly decorated rooms with a nice view of the water. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast had a good selection for all. A nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Paul Fielder - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Beth Thank you for reviewing us after your recent stay with us at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to Knysna. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by TONY

Stay elsewhere...noisy

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
I chose the Knysna Protea for its waterfront location, which was good BUT totally outweighed by noisy, very early a.m. staff (yelling in the hallways), poor service (non response to several requests) and tour buses parked right out front adjacent to rooms (very noisy). There are much better boutique options available. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Sacheen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located

Posted May 1, 2017
Well located. Right next to the water front. Relaxed atmosphere. Its a B&B only, so guests need to figure lunch and dinner accordingly. There are enough options to eat, close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Paul Fielder, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal family getaway

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Maintenance required to ensure fixtures work in the bathroom e.g. Shower heads, shower door not closing properly.
4 out of 5
by Dr MD

Knysna quays Protea

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
I had a problem when checking in. The room was not ready until 14:30 despite being advised that check in time was 14:00. After that everything was smooth. The hotel has a wonderful heated swimming pool. You can walk straight into the waterfront area with shops and restaurants. There are boat trips available. It is a really good tourist venue. The room was clean and comfortable, although being used to a king size bed, the double bed felt a little too small. The free WiFi came in very useful for checking e-mails. The self service breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Hotel on the waterfront.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Right on the waterfront
Cons: Internet connection and room condition.
Motel type hotel. Room could have been cleaner. Internet connection was very poor. Staff not super helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Paul Fielder, Hotel Management
Dear KT man Thank you for your review. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays again soon. Paul Fielder The General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had a pleasant stay however we were told to get out of the pool when all we wanted to do was have some fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for completing this review. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best! Yours sincerely, Paul Fielder General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tamara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels