Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in lovely location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights in the main building that only had a few rooms, so we felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. We really enjoyed the lounge feeling of the bar area. The dining area had views with very nice food. The hotel grounds are very cute with wonderful views over the bay. Lots of hands on TLC by the hotel staff made for a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Louis

Home away from home

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location/view! Peaceful. Professional.
5 out of 5
by Antony

Home away from home

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
St James has a peaceful ambience about it. The staff were friendly and very hospitable. The room were large, clean and spacious. They have a beautiful view of the lagoon with a nice variety for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
having stayed at St James before we booked a return visit. We had forgotten just how amazing the location is; on the ledge of the lagoon. Should have booked two nights not one so that we had more time to enjoy the lovely garden and pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Wonderful accommodation and beautiful setting for a relaxing vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

great views. excellent breakfast on the terrace

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: location and comfort
Cons: nothing needed just keep it as it is
We used the restaurant and found the food excellent, service was good and pretty quick which was a pleasant surprise as some of the reviews I read criticised the length of time they had to wait for food.
5 out of 5
by James

James, Joburg

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing old school boutique hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful country house hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel in an unbeatable location next to the Knysna lagoon. Service exemplary. Suite really comfortable with wonderful views. I hope I'll be able to stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel as a base for touring garden route

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. Very friendjy and helpful staff. Very relaxing. Lovely views. Nice restaurant and food. Comfortable large rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed with the lack of staff. We had to go looking for someone every time we wanted a drink. Eve meal poor.old English country house in South Africa it did not make sense. Good for older people who like that. Room was large with a lovely view of the lagoon.