Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Dirty and needs maintenance

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros - Nice people - Central location Cons - Room was dirty, crumbs under pillows, so sheets were not changed - Miniscule TV - Shampoo and soap dispensers in shower - potentially unsanitary - Stairs to second floor missing concrete - would not pass a building inspection - Lots of street noise in rooms facing 395 - Too expensive for value provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gardnerville, nv

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Room was clean. A bit hot when I got into it but the air conditioner worked great and cooled it down quick
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Generally speaking not a bad experience to stay, room is clean and spacious, staff is friendly. But free breakfast is very limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Admin Peeps, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for writing! We do not advertise breakfast and it is simply a "Light and Healthy" option of a yogurt parfait or oatmeal. We do not mention it at all on our sites - so we actually do not include breakfast as a rule - it is an added perk we offer. We take pride in our rooms and hotel and thank you for recognizing that! Please come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel to stay off US 395

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Hotel and staff were very nice! This was a midway point in my trip and I couldn't of asked for a better place to stop for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Admin Peeps, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate it. We will pass this on to the staff and look forward to hosting you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora, CA

Very Cool

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location, price, and accoutrements.
Cons: nothing
Location: Hiking, casinos dining
Was staying in the area working and needed an affordable room for a week. I am used to doing this and I know what to expect in this price range. Upon checking in I was impressed with Jeff at the lobby. I felt a little grubby after working and was underdressed for the classy ambiance around me but Jeff was funny and professional. He made me feel very comfortable. The room was exceptional. Hardwood floors and spacious. Nice armchair with fast wifi. Even the fridge was stocked with drinks and snacks. I felt the inn was from a bygone era yet impeccably preserved. Such a welcome change from the typical modern chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Admin Peps, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and the great feedback! We hope to see you again, soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central Valley, CA

Wonderful getaway!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Small town feel
Cons: Hot tub
Location: Small town, a little of everything located on each side. Tahoe only 30 miles of beautiful country. Nice drive back and forth.
The room was cozy and clean. Very nicely decorated in a natural way. The only thing I wished they had was a hot tub! That would have made our romantic weekend absolutely perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Bob - GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. Come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice historical.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Price is a little higher than expected but it more than makes up for it on the outstanding condition of the rooms, cleanliness and professionalism of staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Bob - GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. Please come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belvedere, ca

Nice little hotel in the middle of town.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Although the room was large and clean, the a/c system was noisy and outdated. Otherwise staff and location made up for the lack of amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Bob - GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for bringing the noisy a/c system to our attention. We will address your concerns promptly. At Historian Inn, we take pride in providing our guests with optimal customer service with quality products and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Rustic town

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The room was nice and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Make sure the bathrooms are cleaned.
Location: Restaurants and casino close by!
Walked to restaurants, mini stores and a casino.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Bob - GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, we apologize the bathroom was not up to our your standards. We take pride in the cleanliness of our facilities, and will use your feedback to correct the issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Clean, comfortable room . I would stay again. My room was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Bob - GM, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back whenever you are in the area.