Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lovely settings and views

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel is lovely however the one real fault is the pool side sunbeds: people place towels on the beds and leave them all day this is a fault that the hotel will not deal with. We made a complaint and the management claimed to pool boy and the pool boy claimed the management, we asked to speak to the owner but this never happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

The Grand Hotel Gardone

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The views
Cons: None
Location: lovely walks and the lake boat will take you to different parts of the lake.
Our stay at the hotel was incredible. From the moment we set foot in the hotel to the day we left we had a very memorable stay. The building itself is stunning and the staff very friendly. Any one considering staying at Lake Garda should consider the Grand Hotel Gardone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Great hotel in the best location on Lake Garda

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Convenience, the facilities, friendly staff, great room with a lake a view and A/C that worked !
Cons: Wifi signal in may parts of the hotel invariably did not work, but was very good near reception.
A most relaxing 9 days, ideal venue to relax as well as explore the Lake and surrounding area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful old world charm.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Generous, elegant spaces and a variety of places to enjoy the experience across the whole day.
Cons: More international newspapers.
Location: There is a small commercial area nearby - mostly restaurants. The hotel is very close to the ferry terminal. We visited Sirmione - very busy!
We enjoyed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. It exudes charm and elegance. We had two dinners at the a la carte restaurant - terrific menu and excellent service. The rooms are spacious with beautiful views over the lake. Sitting on the balcony in the morning or evening was very relaxing. Very close to the ferry terminal - we visited Sirmione, which is delightful but very busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent

Beautiful old fashioned Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: too much to list
our first stay at this hotel but it will not be our last The hotel is beautiful and the staff can not do enough to help you The pool and lake sun lounge area are stunning with fantastic views I took my wife there for a surprise for her 50th birthday and she was over the moon we have travelled a lot but this was the most beautiful place we have been too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MIAMI

A GEM FROM THE BELLE EPOQUE!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Cons: The dinner service was very slow too many servers and not enough cooks?
Location: Do not miss Limone either by car or boat. If you are daring, take the cornise road as you come out of Limone to TREMOSINE.the most dramatic side road!
Nice hotel from the old times, with a beautifull view of the lake. Our room was okay with a nice balcony.
3 out of 5
by VIJAY

My stay...

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The stay could've been a lot better . Certain basic areas were lacking . In the wardrobe ... The rod for hanging the hangers was full of dust. I like having a tea in the night but no kettle provided. Nor given on request. No iron given on request. I broke my nail and requested for a scissor or nail cutter but refused curtly by the receptionist due to hygiene reasons . Somewhere the service esply from front office staff did not seem guest oriented. My husband enjoyed the crepes and strawberry dinner in restaurant after dinner and it was really well made. I requested the next day if I could have the same dessert even though we ate dinner outside. Upon asking the reception the server refused looking embarrassed and helpless. He added that I would have to pay a minimum charge of 25 euros for it. We appreciate you have boundaries but here it seemed that it was certainly not focussed on pleasing the guest or exert ANY flexibility. I will neither patronise it again nor recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a boring location

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Don't stay here unless you are older than 60. This is a nice hotel, however the location makes me never to want to go back. Definitely for the elderly crowd. It's over priced for it's location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A slice of heaven

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely welcome with a personal touch. Beautiful hotel where I felt transported back in time to an era of luxury and style. Stunning location with fabulous views of the lake. Great pool plus opportunities to swim in lake. Excellent service. Would highly recommend. So easy to travel by boat around the lake and hop from one lakeside town to another. Nice restaurants a 1 minute walk away. One of the few hotels I would return to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff was helpful, breakfast was good, BUT order egg half hour before you want them seemed to be a long wait, pool terrace gardens beautiful and clean, drinks very expensive half the price two minutes up the walkway, you are charged 14 Euro's park per day which isn't explained upon booking. Although the hotel is a kittle tired we would still return due to location, amazing views of the lake