Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benfleet. Essex

Not too good

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel to be honest is in a good location and had hot water for a shower, and to be honest that is enough for me, but i paid £40 for nights stay in a tiny hotel room that only had one toilet for about 8 rooms, the decor i dont think had been changed since the 1930s, the windows would not shut and i have seen better conditioned carpets in boot sales. For me these things are not too important but i do think the hotel is overpriced and should be a one or two star not rated as a three. But like i say it had a shower with hot water, the staff were very helpful and the location is only ten minutes walk from Gar de Nord.
2 out of 5
by Chun Yip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italia

Nasty dirty place and furniture old and dirty

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Place were dirty old decadent covers blankets matresses dirty. price craxy 40eur,place for bombs, room were more adapt for 2 hours sex dates. 5 steps to the gare d est.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap (very) and convenient (very).

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Price, location
Cons: A few repairs were needed in the room – a bedside light switch, the shower cord and in-room WiFi would have been nice.
Location: A short walk from the Eurostar terminal, bang alongside Gare de l'Est
Look, if you're paying these kind of prices, and right next to Gare de l'Est too, you can't expect miracles. The Lorraine provides a basic room, with TV, and WiFi in the lobby. Desk staff are nice. Shower water is warm, hot even. And your bed is made during the day. There's no way you'd find anything, short of a hostel bed in a shared dorm, in London for rates like this. If you're after more comfort, more facilities, more service, fine, pay for them and stay elsewhere. For the budget traveller with few demands, and perhaps an early/late train to/from Paris, you won't find better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here.

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
We booked online, got a room and thought we had paid online via Hotels.com. We arrived, checked-in, the clerk barely spoke English but what can you expect, you're in their country. We went up to our room and the place was disgusting. The beds were maybe washed recently, hard to tell. The room was dirty. There wasn't a toilet in the room, it is down the hall. We decided that we didn't want to stay in that room so we decided to get a refund and get another hotel (there are a lot nearby, go to them). The hotel clerk said we weren't able to check out, we were in there for 5 minutes! He hid behind the language barrier between us, so we whipped out our French-English phrasebooks and rhymed off a few phrases. He quickly got the hint and called the owner. The owner too claimed he didn't know any English, although halfway through the conversation he was responding in proper sentences, so I don't know. He refused to give us our money back. We ended up staying across the street at a hotel for the same price that was 100 times better. Don't go here. Spare yourself.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid at all costs

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Didn't get what we payed for or what was advertised (no safe, and a double bed rather than 2 singles). The 'bathroom' was a broom cupboard with a shower you had stoop in to get under the water and had no lock. Worst the hotel insisted on keeping our key when we went out - something I was not pleased with and have never experienced before
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Ok for just a night

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Lovely breakfast (coffee, juice, croissant, bread made especially). Bed was comfortable but room didnt seem clean or hygienic, there was a stale smell, the shower and toilet too small. Fine for one night, right outside gare de l'est and close to gare du nord so good location. Noisy at night, no air con, no fresh air. Staff seemed nice tho
3 out of 5
by Bo Jyun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Convenient but sketchy

Posted Jun 29, 2015
It is right next to Gare Du Elest (it's right outside your window) which is a main train hub and can get you anywhere. It is also the train line to get to Germany. Other than that convenience it has a nice staff who did speak English and were nice. The Wifi is only in the main area and it's not very large. Elevator, and rooms are beyond small. It also has a stale smell and the bed looked questionable.
1 out of 5
by Rogelio from Arlington, Texas

Worst hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The neighborhood is scary and the people are rude. The room itself was awful. The bed was lumpy and the bathroom was like a public bathroom. Someone knocked at my door for 10min at 2am for god knows what reason. Felt unsafe the entire time. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Please don't stay here!