Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First visit to Bavarian Alps

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Met all our requirements with ease. A little out of Garmisch centre, but no issue as bus card provided. Worth the long hike to see inside the Schachenhaus. Also make sure you visit the gorges close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Andreas, Hotel Management
Hey there, and thanks for the nice review, much appreciated :-) The hike to the Schachenhaus is, indeed, very nice, but quite long -> stamina required :-) The gorges, especially the Partnachklamm, is by far easier. Looking forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Very nice hotel with extremely helpful staff.

Posted May 31, 2017
Clean, large, modern room. Staff spoke excellent English and were helpful with directions and recommendations. Bus stop is just outside the hotel and hotels give out passes for free bus travel. Took the bus to Zugspitze and the Partnachklamm gorge. Both wonderful sites! Wonderful trip to a beautiful area!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Andreas, Hotel Management
Dear Kristi, thanks for the nice review, really appreciate it :-) If you happen to come back, we are sure to find some other, less well-known spots to visit for you ;-) Safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Shasta Ca 96067

Great Stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Great location, great view, great complimentary breakfast buffet, clean rooms , helpfull staff, would go back in second!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Andreas, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, thanks for the review, we really appreciate it. If you plan on coming back to Garmisch, we will also be there in a second ;-) Looking forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very responsive to all our requests. The location was convenient to shopping and eating. The bus stop for free shuttle was right out front. Amazing breakfast included. Only complaints were hit or miss wifi and slightly hard bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

An excellent value...

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location; parking; quality of food; convenience.
Cons: Washcloths and bar soap could be made available for guests who used them in their home countries.
Location: The Hotel Rheinischer Hof is centrally-located, and convenient to local points of interest such as Oberammergau; the Zugspitze, and Schloss Linderhof.
The Hotel Rheinischer Hof is nicely located, on a main road through Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Complimentary off-street parking is available for guests (this often costs extra at German hotels) and there is a bus stop right outside. (Your stay at the Hotel Rheinischer Hof includes a bus pass.) The hotel is spotless, the facilities are convenient, and the staff is perfectly accommodating. If you get your meals included, as I did, you'll enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet, and a great Bavarian dinner. For the small added cost, the meals are well worth the price. The rooms are typically European, which means that Americans will have to make some adjustments. Beds are low to the floor, and instead of a top sheet and blanket, a covered down comforter is provided. In the bathroom, instead of bar soap, German hotels typically use liquid soap, in a squeeze dispenser, that serves as both a bath soap and a shampoo. There are no washcloths (bring your own). The shower stall is very cramped: You must stand upright, and you cannot bend over. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Hotel Rheinischer Hof, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Andreas, Hotel Management
Dear Beemerguy, thanks for taking the time to review us so thoroughly. Really appreciate that! I also think you have really hit the nail on the head here when pointing out some differences between german / european amenities and american ones, like the soap and bedding situation. We do have some bars of soap at the front desk, so we could provide them if need be. It does say so in the FAQ... but, looking it up now, I have to admit it is well hidden. I will look into it, maybe we can make it clearer (sticker on the soap dispenser?)... We did add washcloths to the bathrooms now, it does seem to be a more common request -> thanks for the input! That is the best way for us to improve! Also, we are already planning out new bathrooms. We will try to change the shower situation to make it more accesible and easier to move around. Nothing is finalized yet, but your imput is much appreciated! Looking forwad to showing you our improvements next time ;-) Take care Andreas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quiet, spacious, clean rooms, friendly staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We booked here just one night because of Garmisch's proximity to Neuschwannstein and Linderhof castles. After talking with the woman at the hotel reception desk we wished we could stay longer (she explained all the things there were to do and see). We ate at the restaurant which we found to be excellent, and again at breakfast next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shiloh, IL

Rooms and a view!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
What a wonderful staff! They took care of our every need and the food was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kelly

Awesome choice!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were super friendly, the room was really big and they accommodated me even though I arrived a few hours before check in time. The room was super clean, the location is great, and I would definitely recommend this place and stay there again if I return.
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels