Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Ok, not spectacular

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We spent Christmas here and we were a little let down by the resort. The location was actually good, secluded and there is a nice pond there that people can ice skate on and walk around/ hike to other villages in the mountains. Very short drive to the center of Garmisch. The room was nice with two floors and two tvs. On the poor side, we were let down by the hot tub being out of order. In fact, most of the spa area seemed dated, a little moldy and crowded (likely due to the time of year). Still, for a large resort in the Alps, they need to renovate and expand their relaxation areas to accommodate their guests. Finally, on the day we arrived the two main elevators were shut down for renovation. I get that this has to happen sometime, but managers probably shouldn't schedule repairs during peak holiday travel. If everything was up and running, and updated to modern standards, this place has huge potential. Until then, there are better options in a resort town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to Garmisch in winter

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff, views, breakfast, room size
Cons: Room temperature control
Location: Eibsee, Zugsbitz, Garmisch town
Great stay during a trip to Garmisch though you do need a car to get there as it's 5-10 mins away from the town and train station. The lake was an added bonus, even though it was frozen the views around it spectacular. Only minor gripe was that the room was like an oven, couldn't turn off the heating oddly. But there was a tilting door to the balcony which we left open at night which helped. It was a huge room, complimentary mini bar and had 2 TVs though you had to pay to get an English service like movies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with great staf

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The hotel was nice and located in a great location. The hotel was outside of town enough to where you felt relaxed and isolated. However, you could be in town within five minutes. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were offered a glass of prosecco upon arrival. The hotel offered free parking and breakfast was included. The spa was nice and relaxing. The only complaint was the whirlpool was being repaired during our visit. In addition to the whirlpool, one of the restaurants was being renovated. We had dinner at the open restaurant the fist night. Dinner was excellent and affordable. The hotel bar was a great environment with pleasant staff. The drinks were affordable for a hotel bar. We stayed in the basic room with queen bed. The room was clean with a nice balcony and modern bathroom. We will likely stay at here in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall nice place to stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not ready at 3pm check in. Welcome sparkeling on arrival was nice. Rooms a little tired but ok. Requested an additional child bed to be made up which I had to ask again for after check in. Free mini bar snacks was nice. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Perfect Weekend!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Free parking, free wifi, exceptional breakfast! This was our second stay with Riessersee and we had a fantastic stay. We love everything about the hotel ;)
Cons: Unfortunately the hot tub was down but we still had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grovetown, USA

Great value, location, and view!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Only negatives were: Check-In was a goat rope, due to a miscommunication between Expedia and the Hotel. An elevator was malfunctioning, which was pretty inconvenient with parents in their 60s. Hot tub was down for repair, just an annoyance. Great location outside of the city, so it was super quiet. Went during a slow period before ski season kicked off, during a beautiful fall color change. Had both rooms with a view of the city and mountainside, just gorgeous! Breakfast was amazing, and the rooms were really comfortable, pretty spacious (esp by European standards), and bathrooms were recently remodeled and super clean. Some common areas have seen some wear, but that's normal for a ski resort area where folks track lots of mess in from the snow and hiking trails. The resort really does have it all in one place. The restaurant was really good and convenient, with wild game on the menu, and reasonable prices. Overall, definitely worth the rates we paid!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loveliness and generosity in Garmisch

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
They were very welcoming to my friends, family, and me
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Very very dated

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The maisonette suite we had was very dark. Even during the day the light had to be kept on. The decor throughout the hotel is very dated. The hot tub in the spa was out of action. The chairs in the bar (most of them) felt like they were about to collapse. Juice ran out at breakfast, despite asking for more no-one bothered. Do your research. Its not superior by any standards as the hotel likes to advertise. For just under 160 Euro per night I don't think it is up to scratch
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet location!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We stayed 2 nights and wished we had more time to spend there! Staff was very gracious and their breakfast buffet was beyond excellent.