Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granby QC

B&B isolated

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Location: Isolated, 15 min. to Gaspé.
Very small room, No water (sink) in the room. 13 steps down to go to the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Lili, Hotel Management
The lodge is situated at only 10 min from the national park and 10 to Gaspe, i thought you were already aware of the situation written on the expedia website, sorry for the inconvenience i suggest that you book in a motel with the first floor as in the counrty there is not place with an elevator and it will make it more easier for you. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Very clean. The guests were pleasant. The host, Lisa, was very helpful and accommodating. In particular, Lisa was a very interesting and stimulating conversationalist!! Breakfast was excellent as well as healthy!! We would highly recommend a stay to anyone. Nancy and Rich
4 out of 5
by Donna from Ottawa

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much I enjoyed having you at l'Auberge. Lisa Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Such wonderful hosts and accommodations!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The comfort, cleanliness and the hosts! The breakfasts! It is also a very quiet area and we enjoyed watching the hummingbirds.
Cons: The house is creaky but we didn't hear much noise from our room. Also, watch out if you're using Google maps -- it gave the wrong location.
Location: 15 minute drive from Gaspé city. It's on a river and near a national park (including a beautiful beach).
My boyfriend and I had a great time staying here! Lisa and Elie were wonderful and considerate hosts, and very knowledgeable about the area. Their travel advice was helpful and it allowed us to make the most of our trip, which mostly involved hiking in the Forillon National Park, and visiting the city and the river. Lisa cooked us two amazing breakfasts (more like brunch because they were so substantial) and was considerate of my dietary constraints (I'm vegetarian). Our room was very comfortable, and we loved the luxurious bedding on the king sized bed! The house was clean and filled with the beautiful stained glass art that Lisa makes. This is a house, so yes, the two bathrooms are not attached to the rooms. They are downstairs and the rooms are upstairs. I think that the people who were displeased with the accommodations do not understand what a bed and breakfast is... (or maybe it is mis-marketed as a hotel on this website?).
4 out of 5
by WILIIAM A from Springfield MAss

A fisherman's lodge

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
A comfortable fishermen's lodge/b& B, this is not for those looking for the usual creature comforts like private bathroom and tv in the room. But the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the hosts were very accomodating. The all you can eat homemade breakfast was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Comfortable and quiet.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We loved the location and quaintness of this Auberge. The host made us feel at home immediately and tended to our every request. I rise early so coffee was made available for me when I got up. Very nice touch indeed. Certainly a nice place to stay. If you're a fisherman it's a great stop for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotelier with Attitude

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Watching the hummingbirds on the deck.
Cons: More pleasant reception; relocated bathrooms; more accurate description of the facilities
This was not a good experience for my husband and myself. GPS cannot be relied upon to get you to this location, and when I called to ask for directions, the owner berated me for not checking her website. Then we booking us in she berated me for going through Expedia - could have saved a bit by booking directly with her. The real shock came when, after charging our Visa card, I realised that the bathroom - described as 'detached' - really is detached because it's on the main floor and our bedroom was on the second floor. Quite a stroll in the middle of the night. The two bathrooms (for three or four guest rooms) are on the main floor - just beyond the dining room table. Under some circumstances this would mean having to walk past other guests having breakfast to get to the bathroom. We had the king size bed with mountain view - that's debatable - but the room certainly is not 300 square feet. There is no chair in the room, no glasses, and no outside lock on the door. Our stay was so unpleasant and contentious that as we packed up in the morning, my husband said to avoid any further conflict we would leave without breakfast. This move resulted in Lisa phoning my mobile three times, screaming insults at me each time (I wonder why I answered the phone...) and her final words to me were not printable - language to make a stevedore blush. This B&B (not auberge) was the absolute worst of fifteen places we stayed on our trip to the east coast; we cannot recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LJ from Napa

A quiet and wonderful place to stay.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Quiet, beautiful location, interesting hosts and good breakfasts.
The hosts, Lisa and Eli, are fascinating, multi-talented people who do all they can to make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A clean and comfortable place...

Posted Aug 18, 2013
The Auberge du Saumonier Lodge was a welcome end to a day of travel through the National Park. The hostess was warm and personal and provided excellent advice for dinner. And yes, the GPS was accurate!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we were expecting!!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Lovely, clean old home, however, be aware it is a bed and breakfast in its most basic form. I did a lot of research before booking and the amenities listed were a Coffee Shop/Café; rooms offer a balcony or patio; espresso makers/coffee makers; shared bathroom with a sink in the room; coffee/tea in the lobby. This was not what we experienced! We arrived early evening and were shown our room. It was lovely and clean but no coffee maker in sight. Also our room had no sink or balcony or patio.....just a furnished room with a bed. There were 10 guests sharing 2 bathrooms and one TV. I asked Lisa, our host, if I could boil water to make a cup of tea and she said I was not allowed in the kitchen. She agreed to boil some water and after 30 minutes, I asked if I could pour the tea and she asked if I had a tea bag??! I ended up getting a drink of water from the bathroom (not allowed in the kitchen) using my water bottle (no glass in the bedroom and I wasn't up to asking for a glass). This home is in the country and so strolling down the street for a coffee was not an option. I have read the glowing reviews others have submitted and don't know whether our experience was because she had a full house and was stressed, however, we did not enjoy our experience at all and would sleep in our car before going back!!