Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cigarette smells and ashes in the bathroom, smells so bad entirely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Unprofessional Service by Rude Staff

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing!
Cons: Change management and staff at this hotel. Provide training to staff on professionalism. Add lighting in the parking lot to make guests feel safe.
Location: The hotel is located in a dark, deserted area. The parking lot lighting is poor, which made me feel uncomfortable and unsafe.
I had a prepaid reservation via Expedia. The hotel's policy states that guests may check in until 5 am. I tried to check in at approximately 1 am., but the entry door was locked. I tried to call from the house phone located near the door, but no one answered. I kept trying to call on the house phone for approximately 10 minutes but to no avail. I then tried to call on my mobile phone and, finally, a woman with a sleepy voice rudely answered and said she would open the door in a few minutes. Another 10 minutes passed, so I called again and finally she arrived to open the door. She looked like she had just woken up and was very rude as if I had disturbed her sleep . . . not at all professional. Was she not on the clock to host guests arriving at the hotel?? By this time, I had decided that there was no way I wanted to stay at this hotel and asked her to cancel my reservation and provide me documentation for a refund. She provided me the documentation and then slammed the door in my face! In all my years of business travel, I have never before experienced such a poorly run hotel. The rude, unprofessional staff was unbelieveable. STAY AWAY!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel had a bad smell

Posted Nov 9, 2017
And there were a lot of shady characters coming in and out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Flea Infested !!!

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Security Door Locks To Get Into The Hotel
Cons: They Could Clean The Carpets, Mop The Bathroom Floors, And Put Bed Spreads On The Beds. And When A Pet Is In Room Spray When They Leave...
This Room had No Bed Spreads on the beds, The floors was nasty like if they had not been cleaned in a long time. I had taken My shoes off and the next thing I know My white foodies had black specks all over them and when I got to looking it was Fleas... When I went to the front desk about it they had already closed the front desk up and there was no one to talk to about it.. Thank Goodness I did not put My bag on the Floor... I picked up My Shoes and went to the bathroom and put My shoes back on and went and got some bug spray to pray the floor with. I was so tired from Traveling Once I got back to the room I sprayed the Floors with the bug spray and left for a couple hours then went back and got on the bed and didn't get back off until the morning.. I Had to put My Shoes on before I got Off the bed. This was so nasty... I am trying to get in touch with the Corporate Office. This was horrible. So If You Can Book Any Where Else In The Gastonia Area Please Do...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that you had pest issues. I met with the staff, and we have had eco lab out to the property to ensure that this is not repeated. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great one night stay over on our trip to Florida

Posted Oct 15, 2017
This was an overnight stay on our trip to a reunion. It was late and were pleased that this nice, comfortable room was available. There were few staff on duty but we were able to get everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and staff. We take cleanliness very seriously at WoodSpring Suites. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Disappointing, what more can I say. Would not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not aware of the lack on amenities. We deeply apologize if this wasn’t explained properly at check-in, however, we are confident this allows us to provide the absolute best price to our customers for a high quality, well maintained room. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other WoodSpring Suites location in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another hotel while youcan

Posted Oct 2, 2017
No closet no iron or ironing board. The guests appeared to be people who needed to stay through social services or homeless. A lot of families living there with a lot of children. Never once did we see a maid, nor did they come to do our bed or get towels. Terrible place to stay!!! Never again very scary place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not aware of the lack on amenities. We deeply apologize if this wasn’t explained properly at check-in, however, we are confident this allows us to provide the absolute best price to our customers for a high quality, well maintained room. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other WoodSpring Suites location in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Oct 2, 2017
room condition and hotel location is not good, there was lot of homeless people out side so have to make sure they dont enter to the hotel behind you and even hotel staff will worn you about that, Room conditions are below average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the negative clientele at the hotel. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expect.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: It has a large refrigerator and a small stove.
Cons: Staff needs to be more courteous and polite to quest, Good morning will not hurt anyone to say to another or response to another person.
Location: Location is in Gastonia, there is nothing to do nearby. I went to Walmart.
I was very disappointed, I request a room with handicap accessible when making the reservation, I asked about the room I was told that we have an elevator, but we are full. I asked one of the staff for an exchange of a wash cloth and towel on the fourth floor, where my room was, I was told I had to go down stair to the first floor to the laundry room to get a clean wash cloth and towel. There was no phone or phone book in the room, I was told there would be a charge for a phone. There were someone clothes in the dresser drawer and a dirty needle that some one use to take what ever drug in the trash can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Laura , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Nice accommodations, nice staff and peaceful with easy access to town
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Laura B., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!