Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Comfortable but needs updating

Posted Oct 21, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and the room was comfortable and clean. Good location for Gatlinburg downtown and the Smokies. Overall, the hotel is very dated and feels like it hasn't changed since the 1980's. Could do with a serious makeover. Staff were very friendly but it felt as if they were short of numbers. If Wi-Fi is important for you - it was very intermittent and unreliable in our room. Overall, the hotel met our needs and was decent value relative to other hotels in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Hello Will, Thank you for choosing the Brookside Resort It is nice to learn the positives and negatives about your stay and the hotel. We shall certainly look into the same and act on them. We are looking to improve our overall services still better. Definitely we are improving a lot and we look forward for your next stay so that you can experience it. Regards Hotel Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location removed from mail drag in Gatlinburg

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Good value. Excellent location. Good breakfast. Staff was excellent. Bathroom nice. Balcony overlooking stream was pleasing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thanks for the four stars. Hope you had a satisfactory stay. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Visiting us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Disappointed

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Brookside has remodeled units, plus un-remodeled units in an end building. This is the first time, as an Expedia traveler, that we were put in an older unit and less clean than the other units. When we asked if we could move to another building we were told "not at that price". The only positive thing I can say is the air conditioner worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We shall ensure that w=you get the finest stay next time. Shall appreciate your understanding and patronage. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view outside was nice

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I waited in the lobby while checking in for about 15 minutes. During that time the people in front of me complained about the rooms not being ready yet. The next couple complained about something they were charged for and should not have been. The next couple said they had been staying in the same room for 30 years and it was changed. We were able to get into our room right away. The room was clean but outdated. The view from the private deck was awesome. I did not like that the room had regular key locks. That is really outdated. For the view alone I would recommend this place but no other reason
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thanks for the three stars. Hope you had a satisfactory stay. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Visiting us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Close but quiet.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The breakfast is lacking in protein! In June, we loved the hard-boiled eggs. We really were disappointed at not having eggs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Hello Kat, Thanks for the four stars. Noted your feedback and comments. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Visiting us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

going home

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: nothing special. there was a breakfast
Cons: many things
Location: ? I did not come to sightsee
There was only one desk clerk with many duties. I waited a very long time to be checked in..the desk clerk did apologize. For a motel this large there should be more help. I paid only $10.00 more for another motel going down to my destination which was much nicer.. I would not choose to stay at Brookside again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Webmaster, Hotel Management
Hello Shirley, Thanks for staying at the Brookside Resort, during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. They are precious to us and we shall surely take them for improvement. We are addressing your observations point by point for further improvement and you shall definitely see the difference during your next visit. We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us. Sincerely Hotel Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, OH

Hotel in Gatlinburg

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Overall a nice Hotel. Free breakfast and wifi. On the Blue trolley line. Close to everything. Will be back next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Babbling stream on the back patio.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I think k this will probably once again be a top notch place to stay . It is obvious that Gatlinburg is still recoveri g from the wildfires. And although much has been cleaned up unfortunately this motel is still having a few hiccups. Elevator malfunctioned 3 times and eventually became inoperative during our stay. The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help in any manner will bring repeat business. Fresh paint will revitalize what was lacking. Overall was quite satisfied with our stay. Local restaraunts even deliver if you have overdone the day. Many kudos to the young lady who checkedus in she was totally top notch and a true asset to the business !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Quite and Peaceful

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Really enjoy the hotel. Emma the parrot was absolutely a beautiful creature. The room was clean and I felt like I could take off my shoes and stay awhile. The brook behind the hotel was a sleeping pill. Will definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Had to have sheets and pillow cases changed upon arrival due to stains. Staff excellent, very courteous and helpful. Building old and outdated. Beautiful views off of back of room.