Ratings based on 1,592 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Location is the only thing this place has to offer

Posted Apr 8, 2018
The front desk staff were rude. The towels were like sandpaper & we had to go get more everyday because room service didn’t get to our room until after 2:30 pm. We were constantly having to go up and down 3 flights of stairs to get to our room or to the car. One elevator located at the entrance of the hotel which happens to be at the opposite end of where we were staying. Also happened to be extremely slow. People standing outside their doors smoking. It felt like we were in the projects honestly. Motel is ran down. Breakfast was terrible and didn’t save us a dime because we had to eat out everyday. Also never had creamer for the coffee and was just told we are out. Don’t stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from waukesha

Good location to Smokey mountain.

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Loved the proximity to most attractions and restaurants and indoor pool facility but hotel was average. Good if just sleeping and getting out most day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2018
You should refund me my money. The hotel gave me $45 Expedia should give me the rest. Garbage conditions
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such an unusual circumstance and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us. We would like you to know that guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us and your feedback has been forwarded to management. We truly thank you again for sharing your feedback and for your valuable business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit Michigan

5 hour stay no discount or even consider

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Ill start with a positive. Great location some good staff. Ok i stayed 5 hours at this place when i was passing through although it was busy and the last available room it was a decent price but the room was gross hair on blanket and half the stuff didn't work also DANGEROUS for a child (photo's) open electric sockets and fireplace that can't turn off or on (just pilot) I reserved on expedia and arrived at 5 am asked if i could get a deal since CO was at 11 they said NO. Door would barely open was crooked and the front desk guy could not even tell me the location of my room. Had to walk around for 20 minutes at 5 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience I'm very sorry to hear you were unhappy. I assure you the issues you mentioned are being addressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: Everything is walking distance.
Cons: Everything structure wise and everything is good. Its customer service and how they words things that might be a issue.
Location: Tons of things to do in the area its on the main strip. So you have all the attractions
Everything is walking distance. I for sure wouldn't say it was that best hotel in the area but it was nice. When checking in the people before us was asking a question and the lady said " I will get fired if I say yes" I used to work in a hotel if we said that we would have been told we were unprofessional there are other ways of giving details with out putting it all out there. Besides that there is nothing to complain about. Everything was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such an unusual circumstance and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issue. We would like you to know that guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us and your feedback has been forwarded to management. We truly thank you again for sharing your feedback and for your valuable business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence,KY.

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: The water issue while taking a shower.
The room was bigger than I thought it was going to be. The front desk staff was great. It was a great location. I did have a little problem with the water turning to a trickle while in the shower, but besides that, I would definitely stay in this room again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Dirty Hotel Good Location

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Dirty Room Loud Uncomfortable Bed Continental Breakfast not so much ie Bread Cereal Smelled like smoke Outdated
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback I'm very sorry to hear you were less than completely happy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommend

Posted Apr 2, 2018
When we first arrived at our room, it had not been cleaned. The maid had clearly skipped the room. We complained, and they said they were sorry and would clean it. We went to dinner, and when we got back, the beds were stripped, but not maid up. Called again, but we had to wait about an hour before the room was cleaned and the beds maid. It was obvious they were under staffed. In general the hotel is an older building and it shows. There are a lot of little things that needed repairs. I will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason, we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2018
I am surprised this hotel is still in business. The toilet seat fell off the toilet and the sink leaked. When we checked in, I was immediately told that if there was anything that was wrong that the hotel was being renovated very soon. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We take this very seriously and are very sorry about the issues you faced; this has been forwarded to management. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to earn your business in the future by continuing to evolve and improve guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Broken furniture . Torn shower curtain. The room was old and dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason, we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.