Ratings based on 1,574 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Close to Ntl Park

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The motel was very dated, but it was very close to the national park. Very good location, very friendly staff. There wasn't a lot of parking but the staff was very accommodating .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is truly our goal to impress each guest with our service and hospitality. We want to thank you for the remarks pertaining to our staff and location. We hope you'll return someday to see how we continue to grow thanks to valuable guest feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good for a short and sweet stop

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The room was clean and neat. The hotel and room were not amazing but great for the price. The manager Brittany was fantastic, she was there at check in and check out and was incredibly freindly and helpful. My boyfriend left his power cord for his game console in the room, she found it and promptly had it mailed back. She was hands down the best manager I've ever delt with at a hotel in handling situations. I would recommend this hotel for a couple nights in town. The location is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this honest review and feeback about our location and price. I hope that we will impress you with exemplary service during future visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location but very dated.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Very noisy, even at midnight. Kids running, screaming. You hear everything above you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I apologize for the noise from other guests in the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted Nov 25, 2017
That have a separate place that they place guest that book online... it was run down with curtains barely hanging over the windows and part of the bath tub was broken. We will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear you were unhappy but I assure you how you book had no influence on where your room is in the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice it’s on the strip

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The cute raccoons raided garbage can every night . The pool is still closed for about a year now . Third stay still closed .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GATLINBURG, TN

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Location: THE LOCATION IS THE ONLY THING THIS PROPERTY HAD GOING FOR IT.
RENTED TO ADJOINING ROOM. RM 119 AND RM 120. RM 119 HAD DOG FECES UNDER EDGE OF BED. RM 120 DID NOT NEED TO BE RENTED. ROOM HAD HOLDS OF WALL AT BOTTOM, MOLD ON INTERIOR WALLS AND ON BATHROOM CEILING. IF TRAVEL WITH MY JOB, SO I HAVE STAYED IN MANY HOTELS AND THIS IS BY FAR THE WORSE I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED. I DID DISCUSS WITH THE PROPERTY MANAGER WHO ONLY CREDITED ME FOR ONE NIGHT FOR ONE ROOM. I EVEN TOOK THE FECES TO OFFICE TO HER. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. DAYS INN SHOULD NEVER HAVE THEIR NAME ASSOCIATED WITH THIS PROPERTY. I WAS TOLD THE PROPERTY HAD NEW OWNER, BUT THESE ROOMS WERE NOT RENTABLE
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by BG, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear about what you encountered this is definitely not our standard. I assure you the issues you described will be addressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Great beds
Cons: update lobby. Pool area was nasty, but we weren't interested in swimming in November.
Location: Central to all downtown attractions.
The hotel is old and the lobby needs some updating. However, the room was clean, updated, pleasant, and the bed was very comfortable. It was centrally located in downtown, within walking distance of most attractions. If you are interested in a bargain, this is the place
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are currently working hard to renovate and update our hotel. I hope you'll come see us on your next visit to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Asked for hair dryer 3 Times was told they would get one each time never happened. Room cleaned once in three night stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We do understand that many of our guests have different needs and we try to accommodate those needs to the best of our ability. Thank you for the feedback having to do with our room. Please consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to provide you with an even superior experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Edge of town

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This motel is in terrible condition. Our room had mold and water damage. The entire place needs painting and a complete makeover. The breakfast was stale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is truly our goal to impress each guest with our service and hospitality. We want to thank you for the remarks pertaining to our breakfast and room. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Cheap, convenient...

Posted Nov 8, 2017
If you want cheap and convenient, this is your place. But be prepared for a nasty room, disgusting bathroom, and rumors of bedbugs. The staff were friendly enough, but seemed a bit jittery and scattered. I would pay the extra money and stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Reviews like yours are extremely helpful in our ambition to continuously improve upon the guest experience. We look forward to utilizing your comments regarding our staff and room. We do hope that you'll return to see how we are continuously making adjustment to improve and impress our guests by listening to constructive feeback and opinions.