Ratings based on 1,611 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mabelvale, AR

Enjoyable.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Wonderful accommodations. Very peaceful. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Jeannette, for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate your thoughts, and I'm sure other potential travelers will too. We hope to host you here on your next trip to the Smokies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buford Ga

Nice place

Posted Dec 4, 2017
It is alittle bit further off the beaten path. If you play golf this is the place for you. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. It's is great for a get away . The view if very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Patty for taking your time to write this review. We are located 12 miles from downtown Gatlinburg, and most of our guests love being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. It doesn't take too long to get there if you wish, and our location allows us to have spectacular views of the Smokies. We hope you choose us again when you return to Gatlinburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Cozy Gatlinburg View

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: We like the homey feel of the place. You do not feel like you are staying in some generic hotel.
Cons: Please repair the pool table area.
Location: The resort is a reasonable distance from downtown Gatlinburg, from the Artisan Crafters Loop, and many of the local venues.
This was our second time to stay at Deer Ridge Mountain Resort. We love having both a kitchen and a fireplace. As expected, the view from the balcony is breathtaking. The rooms are generous in size and have lovely furnishings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for returning to Deer Ridge, and for taking your time to write this review. The pool table is owned and managed by a vendor. We have contacted him several times and asked him to come and repair the pool table and the air hockey table. He had to order parts, and then claimed he was sick. We hope to see him out here soon! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay again, and look forward to hosting you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Outdated Condo

Posted Nov 21, 2017
After reading so many great reviews, I was so excited to get to the resort! However, our condo was so outdated and musty. The wall paper was pealing in almost every room. There were mildew spots in several places. The beds were hard and the wifi wasn't working. The hotel staff were super nice and accommodating. We spoke with them about our room and they said it was one that they encourage the owners to fix up but they refuse. They told us next time to pick our room by viewing them on the actual website. There are several nice ones, we just happen to get the "not-so-great" one. The lounge was descent and mostly bar food/deli style. The pool was warm and clean and the hot tub, sauna, steam room were working and nice as well. The only downfall was our room. It was too far away from the attractions for me. It was only about a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Gatlinburg but I personally would rather be in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your condo. It is true that each condo here is individually owned, and the owner decides how and when to make updates. But mildew spots and pealing wallpaper are unacceptable, and the owners need to be notified immediately. Can you please tell me which condo you stayed in so that I can correct these issues? I am happy to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of our resort. Most of our guests prefer being away from the hustle and bustle of town, but as you said, it's a personal preference whether you wish to be in the downtown area or away from it. Again, I am sorry you were disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice condo on top of mountain

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Room should be updated Need food available Resort fee and charge for wood coffee etc should be eliminated
Location: Near Dollywood
We stayed in 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo that had another condo above Could hear noise from condo above Our condo was clean but dated Had a very nice view The resort was nice but had no food available so make sure to take your own food The resort fees are rediculous as only has a pool hot tub and sauna The steam room has no steam machine The road is narrow getting to resort Overal nice place to stay Would rate this a 4 star tops but as I said the view is nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Each of our condos is individually owned; owners decorate and update their condos as they please. We certainly encourage every owner to improve their condo, since those that do have more return guests. Our Lobby Lounge is open Thursday, Friday, and Saturdays from 4:00 to 9:00. This is when the majority of guests are here at the resort, and it makes sense for us to pay kitchen and bar staff. Since every condo has a full kitchen, most guests bring food to prepare for themselves. Our resort has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool tub, playground, tennis court and walking trail. Free coffee is available every morning in the Lounge. We do NOT charge a resort fee. We have a reservation fee and a cleaning fee, which are listed on the third-party website from whom you booked. Our road is indeed winding, and that is what allows you to reach a level where you can enjoy our fantastic views. I hope you will consider staying with us on a future visit to the Smokies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ardmore,AL

Amazing view of the mountains.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
The condo we stayed in was a one bedroom. It was very clean. We loved the wood burning fireplace. The view from our balcony was breathtaking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Stephanie for taking your time to write this nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will allow us to host you again on your next visit to the Smokies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henagar, AL

Excellent hotel with an unspoiled view

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing that I noticed.
Location: If you want to feel as if you are 'away from it all', this is the place to escape to.
Absolutely beautiful view of the mountain and valley. An occasion black bear wanders through for company. Very peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but not too far away. Staff makes you feel as if you're family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Than you so much, Theresa, for this lovely review. You have mentioned several key points...relaxing, great staff, and the bonus bears! I hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to the Smokies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

First time in the Smokies

Posted Nov 10, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Deer Ridge. The view was beautiful from our room, the room was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Chris, thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. Our fabulous views, friendly staff, and clean condos are key points for potential visitors to read about. We hope you will allow us to host you on your next visit to the Smokies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton Ohio

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Awesome view and only 20 minutes to Gatlinburg . Full kitchen with a microwave and coffee maker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Sue for taking your time to write a review. We are proud of our resort, and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will allow us to host you again on your next visit to the Smokies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

beautiful hotel, best smoky mountains view

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Cons: some tvs don't work, hair blower doesn't work
Location: excellent
mountains excellent view, close to Gatlinburg town
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Did you notify our front desk about the TVs and hair dryer? It sounds like a fuse was blown. Our maintenance staff works on problems immediately once our guests identify them. I hope you will allow us to host you again here at the resort with "The Best Views of the Smokies!"