Ratings based on 1,694 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Dated but very comfortable.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Took a two day trip for shopping. Had easy access to evetything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We so glad that you like our location and found our rooms very comfortable. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see all the wonderful improvements have made.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected!

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Was not pleased that we couldn't even smoke on the balcony but I was told that I could go set in my car and smoke. I understand not in the room but the balcony??? The elevators need remodeled. They shook ever time we used them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoyed staying in our newly remodeled rooms. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property, including the elevator and interior stair-well area. Because of our renovations, we have become a non-smoking hotel, limiting the locations where one can smoke in order to keep the rooms smoke free. We hope that, in spite of this inconvenience, you give us another chance and see the wonderful improvements we have made to the entire property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seneca, SC

Close to downtown

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: large room and fireplace
Cons: Better breakfast
Very large room, loved the fireplace!!! Warm and inviting. The only 2 things I would change is the breakfast and we had little tiny flies in our bathroom (alot of them) not just a few. Close to downtown and all the shops. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback about your stay. We are glad you loved our spacious renovated rooms. We are still in the process of improving the entire property, including our breakfast selection. Thank you for bringing to our attention about the tiny flies in your bathroom. We hope you informed are staff so that we could address quickly address the issue for you. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg stay, and we hope you will stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

River Edge Not So Much Motel

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, the balcony, the fireplace, and the beds.
Cons: Better room security. The electronic locks on the doors were adequate, however the doors and door frames need to be replaced.
We enjoyed our stay in Gatlinburg. The area is fast returning to normal after the fire, and many of the homes and businesses are returning. Our only complaint was our room needed a good sweeping. The beds were great, and we especially enjoyed the fireplace. Also, the room could have used a suitcase stand, and a bigger TV. We wouldl book with this motel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments about our good location and great beds. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property, including the exterior doors. We will address your complaint with our housekeeping staff. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg trip, and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chattanooga, tn

Disappointed

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Very disappointing. The door into our room would not open all the way because of the refrigerator. This makes it hard to carry your suitcases in. Also the walls needed cleaned, splatters and marks on the wallpaper. The mirror in the bathroom is badly stained. There is no heat in the bedrooms and a tiny amount of foam fills in the area around the window air conditioning units letting in cold air and traffic noises. For breakfast we had milk that was frozen and honey buns past their expiration date. We won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Rebecka, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We hope you brought your concerns to the attention of our staff; we strive to provide excellent service for all our guests. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Gatlinburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Hotel was good needs to seal the doors better heard wind blow all night
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are still in the process of renovating our exterior, which should resolve the issue. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Nov 19, 2017
We stayed here for a week recently and really enjoyed it. Nice place to stay in Gatlinburg. Off the main drag but within walking distance of everything in downtown Gatlinburg. The staff was very helpful with everything. Listened to a problem we were having with the bathroom, and came up with a workable solution for us. We hope to return in March.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your wonderful comments. Our dedicated staff take pride in assisting all our guests, and I am so glad that our helpful staff was able to find a solution for your problem. We enjoyed hosting your week-long vacation, and we cannot wait to see you in March.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Budget hotel within walking distance to shops

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The room had been renovated. The decor and balcony (2nd floor) nice. Neither of us slept well. The beds were too firm and uncomfortable. There was a locked chest freezer by the elevator which was odd. Also multiple couches in breezeway which were getting wet from the rain next morning. possibly part of the renovation. Elevators were dirty & smelled. We didn't have the continental breakfast and went to a great pancake house off the beaten path. Went to Pigeon Forge for the remainder of our vacation. Staff was very personable when we checked in late and out next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are sad to hear that you did not sleep well because of our bedding. Usually, we hear just the opposite from our guests about the comfy beds. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property, including the exterior. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see what improvements we have made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, IN

WOW! A really pleasant surprise.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Great beds although a little high. You almost need a stool to get in. Two sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom - are very handy.
Cons: Anything I can think of they already have on their list to work on. Just be patient. The room lighting was not very good. The room needs 1 more lamp.
Location: Only one block off of "The Parkway" and 1/2 block to the tramway to Ober Gatlinburg and several restaurants.
On rather short notice we decided to spend four nights in Gatlinburg. Our "go to" lodging was not available so after looking at reviews of what was available we decided on River Edge. Boy, are we glad we did! This just may now be our new "go to" lodging. The room we got was on the third (top) floor and was larger than most rooms that you find in newer motels built recently. Ours didn't but some of the rooms have gas fireplaces in them. The room had been completely renovated from floor to ceiling. The bathroom has a pedestal sink but just outside the door in the area across from the closet was a large vanity with another sink and mirror. This was extremely convenient. The two queen beds were extremely comfortable - so much so that we found that the front desk staff keeps information about the make and model of the mattress handy for those that ask. Apparently this happens regularly. Also, each room has it's own private balcony with two chairs and a small table. A great place to just relax and look out on the mountainside or read a book. A couple of notes: (1) Being built in the mid-1970's, the rooms are not just overflowing with electrical outlets. You would be wise to bring an extension cord or multi-outlet tap. (2) The exterior doors to the room are the original wood, 6-panel doors that were used when the motel was built in the 1970's. Because of this and the building's position in relation to the street, you will find that there is more street noise noticeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We absolutely appreciate your wonderful feedback about our recently renovated rooms! We are so glad that you decided to stay with us and that you were wowed by our renovations. Like you, we cannot wait for the completion of our renovations. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg getaway, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms at a great location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Updated, clean rooms at a decent price. We enjoyed being able to walk to stores and restaurants along the main Parkway. The exterior of the motel/lodge needed a bit more work but you could tell they were in the process of doing that. Small area for breakfast; we have three rambunctious kids so we didn’t even try it. There are so many breakfast/pancake restaurants around, it wasn’t a big deal if we got breakfast there anyway. Overall it was a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback, especially about our nice rooms and our great location. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property with plans to expand our breakfast area. We enjoyed hosting your family's trip. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.