Ratings based on 1,972 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Budget hotel within walking distance to shops

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The room had been renovated. The decor and balcony (2nd floor) nice. Neither of us slept well. The beds were too firm and uncomfortable. There was a locked chest freezer by the elevator which was odd. Also multiple couches in breezeway which were getting wet from the rain next morning. possibly part of the renovation. Elevators were dirty & smelled. We didn't have the continental breakfast and went to a great pancake house off the beaten path. Went to Pigeon Forge for the remainder of our vacation. Staff was very personable when we checked in late and out next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are sad to hear that you did not sleep well because of our bedding. Usually, we hear just the opposite from our guests about the comfy beds. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property, including the exterior. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see what improvements we have made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, IN

WOW! A really pleasant surprise.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Great beds although a little high. You almost need a stool to get in. Two sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom - are very handy.
Cons: Anything I can think of they already have on their list to work on. Just be patient. The room lighting was not very good. The room needs 1 more lamp.
Location: Only one block off of "The Parkway" and 1/2 block to the tramway to Ober Gatlinburg and several restaurants.
On rather short notice we decided to spend four nights in Gatlinburg. Our "go to" lodging was not available so after looking at reviews of what was available we decided on River Edge. Boy, are we glad we did! This just may now be our new "go to" lodging. The room we got was on the third (top) floor and was larger than most rooms that you find in newer motels built recently. Ours didn't but some of the rooms have gas fireplaces in them. The room had been completely renovated from floor to ceiling. The bathroom has a pedestal sink but just outside the door in the area across from the closet was a large vanity with another sink and mirror. This was extremely convenient. The two queen beds were extremely comfortable - so much so that we found that the front desk staff keeps information about the make and model of the mattress handy for those that ask. Apparently this happens regularly. Also, each room has it's own private balcony with two chairs and a small table. A great place to just relax and look out on the mountainside or read a book. A couple of notes: (1) Being built in the mid-1970's, the rooms are not just overflowing with electrical outlets. You would be wise to bring an extension cord or multi-outlet tap. (2) The exterior doors to the room are the original wood, 6-panel doors that were used when the motel was built in the 1970's. Because of this and the building's position in relation to the street, you will find that there is more street noise noticeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We absolutely appreciate your wonderful feedback about our recently renovated rooms! We are so glad that you decided to stay with us and that you were wowed by our renovations. Like you, we cannot wait for the completion of our renovations. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg getaway, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms at a great location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Updated, clean rooms at a decent price. We enjoyed being able to walk to stores and restaurants along the main Parkway. The exterior of the motel/lodge needed a bit more work but you could tell they were in the process of doing that. Small area for breakfast; we have three rambunctious kids so we didn’t even try it. There are so many breakfast/pancake restaurants around, it wasn’t a big deal if we got breakfast there anyway. Overall it was a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback, especially about our nice rooms and our great location. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property with plans to expand our breakfast area. We enjoyed hosting your family's trip. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to everything in Town

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Location, room fireplace
Cons: Breakfast area rather small and common areas (elevator lobby's) need some updating.
Location: Put Gatlinburg on your vacation list, all sorts of things to do including two chair lifts, mini golf, aquarium great food not to mention the GSM Park.
It is close enough to the main street to easily walk but far enough off to be quite. Room was updated and clean, the common areas are a work in progress but overall worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback, especially about our great location and our updated rooms. We are so fortunate to be located within easy waking distance to all the attractions of downtown Gatlinburg. We are still in the process of updating the entire property, with plans to update the breakfast and common areas. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg vacation. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see the wonderful upgrades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spencer, tn

One night only

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Anniversary trip. Nice hotel, friendly staff. Extremely comfortable bed! Walls were a little bit thin and we could hear other guests. The fireplace in the room was great. Our only major complaint was the bathroom. They made all kinds of room for the jacuzzi tub but itty-bitty space for the toilet. Plus the tub is not short people friendly. I had some difficulty getting in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback, especially about our nice hotel and our friendly staff. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary trip. We enjoyed hosting you, and we hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LINCOLNTON NC

THE VERY BEST

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: WONDERFUL STAFF, NICE ROOMS, FIREPLACE THAT WORKS!!!!
Cons: NOTHING REALLY
Location: RIGHT IN TOWN, WALK TO YOUR FAVORITE RESTAURANT AND ANYTHING FUN
STAFF WAS EXCELLENT AND WAS GREETED WITH A SMILE! ROOMS WERE VERY NICE AND CLEAN! MOTEL IS IN WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING IN GATLINBURG. WE WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our nice, clean rooms and our wonderful staff. Our friendly staff is always dedicated to making everyone feel welcomed, and we are so glad that our staff exceeded your expectations. We are enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg getaway, and we cannot wait to host you again. Best travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Nice, clean and in walking distance of shopping.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time as usual. Just came up for the weekend with friends. They just git married and this was just a little getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our nice, clean rooms and our good location. We are so glad that you had wonderful time. We enjoyed hosting your little getaway. We hope you will stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location next to restaurants

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Loved fireplace. Staff is very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your great comments! It was our pleasure to host your stay. We hope you will stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very nice staff. Helped us with some problems we had. Rooms very clean and well laid out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our nice staff and our clean, well-laid-out rooms. Our staff always appreciates the opportunity to help our guests, and we are glad that we were able to assist you during your stay. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg getaway. We hope you will stay with us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Gettaway...but nothing but problems

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: Outside appearance is horrible, parking is terrible.
Location: Lots to do....
They only allow one vehicle per room, which is a big problem when you are meeting someone at the hotel to share a room. We had to park in a lot WAY down the street. The hotel manager was rather nasty about the whole thing and treated me like I should have known better. We'll, I don't stay in Gatlinburg...so didn't know there was a parking problem. The hotel is really old on the outside and our door looked like it had been treated bad for 100 years. It was noisy and we didn't like it at all. Way overpriced!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all comments and feedback from our guests.