Ratings based on 1,891 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice hotel close to strip.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Overall, good experience! Hotel was in the midst of some renovations, so it was a little half put together. Breakfast area entirely too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback. We are delighted that you had a good experience with us. We cannot wait for the completion of these renovations, which will include our breakfast area. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see the wonderful improvements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Mount LeConte Trailheads

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Out of the Gatlinburg mayhem but close enough to walk.
Cons: Fix the neon sign.
A little run down but okay for a bed for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are so fortunate to be located on the quiet side of Gatlinburg. We are currently renovating the entire property, including the exterior. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to everything

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Cons: Common areas desperately need cleaning, painting.
Nicely renovated rooms. except for the doors which had to be slammed. Common areas dirty, elevators have not been clean in years, breakfast area is a tiny room adjacent to the reception. Pleasant and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the nicely renovated rooms. We are still in the process of renovating the entire property, which includes the common areas and the dining area. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see the improvements we are making.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location and competitive rates.
Cons: Better lighting for both sides of bed and include a rack to place suitcases on.
Location: Located close to entrance to GSMNP, just behind sky lift. Close enough to walk everywhere.
Slightly off the main Gatlinburg drag but close enough to get to all areas of downtown. Hotel is currently under renovation but staff makes it a point to put you as far away from the construction as possible and we never had any issues with noise or having to get around their mess. Renovated room was great, just needed some changes to lighting for better reading when in bed. Room was very comfortable, and the upgrades were great. Excellent staff, very friendly and courteous and room service was top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your comments, especially about our renovated rooms and our excellent staff. We appreciate your feedback about the lighting in the rooms; we are still in the process of doing final touches to these renovated rooms. We enjoyed hosting your stay, and we hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Very clean, right in the middle of town.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
My husband and I loved this hotel. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere in Gatlinburg as it was in the middle of town and less than a block from the aireal tram to Ober. They are also currently remodeling. Our room had already been done and they were working on the exterior during our stay. It's already a great place to stay so I'm sure it will be even better when they're finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at River Edge Motor Lodge. We deeply appreciate your wonderful comments, especially about our clean, comfortable rooms and our super friendly staff. Like you, we are looking forward to the completion of our renovations. We enjoyed hosting your Gatlinburg getaway. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Nice Gatlinburg hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: In the AAA Tour Guide.
Cons: Nothing. They are making more renovations to the property so it will be nice to see when new things they come up with.
Location: Only one block from the Parkway. We went to several restaurants while we where there and also visited the Space Needle. Next time Hillbilly golf!
We chose this hotel because it is within a very short walk to all the attractions in Gatlinburg. The rooms have all been renovated since the fire in 2016 and are very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is close to the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountain Park, too. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had asked about places to view the Eclipse and they gave us several suggestions. We decided to ride the Ober Gatlinburg tram and ski lift to the top of Mt. Harrison where we joined 200 other people and really enjoyed the eclipse. Ober Gatlinburg in only about 1/2 block from the hotel and we enjoyed our visit there very much. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable place to stay that is convenient to all the activities in Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We greatly appreciate all your wonderful comments, especially about our clean, updated rooms and our friendly staff. We are so glad that you got to experience the once-in-a-lifetime solar eclipse in Gatlinburg. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Cozy room close to attractions

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We stayed the weekend on the first floor in a completely remodeled room. Check in was a breeze and we even received a phone call from the hotel the day of check in to make sure we had directions. The room was very clean and cozy. I loved the flooring, tile, and the fixtures in our room. It was a nice short weekend getaway for my boyfriend and I. We were able to walk to all of the attractions that we wanted to go to. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. They are also working on the outside as well! We look forward to coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate all your wonderful comments about clean, cozy, remodeled rooms. We are so fortunate to be located so close to all the fun attractions. We enjoyed hosting your nice short weekend getaway, and we look forward to your next stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Too much construction, breakfast was terrible. the only thing that we liked was how close it was to the strip and the bed was comfortable. Would not pay 135$ again to stay there not worth it at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We are looking forward to completing these renovations, which will allow to have a better breakfast selection. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see the wonderful improvements to the property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from irvington ky

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Room was not very clean stains on sheets staff was not friendly at all half of them spoke no English drug addicts sitting on couch the had by the elavtor which was out side never will stay there again I recommend you check the place out before you give them your money
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Rebecka, General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We receive many compliments on our friendly staff and clean rooms. I hope you gave us the opportunity to address your concerns while you were at our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a very nice hotel! Close to all attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Laura, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for great review! We cannot agree with you more about our great location. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.