Ratings based on 1,931 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Calandria

Great resort, awful timeshare pressure

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The resort was beautiful. We were really pleased with everything until we got pressured into attending their timeshare presentation. We told them off the bat that were not going to buy into it. Of course, they said "no problem, just come for 90 minutes and you will get all this free stuff". Against our better judgment we went to the stupid presentation. They used every tactic in the book to get us to buy-in, including insulting us. It was past our 90 minute commitment and when we still said no they refused to sign us out. It took us getting rude back and making a scene before they finally let us go. I loved the resort. It was gorgeous and well maintained. Mostly clean, although our blankets were dirty upon arrival but they quickly changed them out for us. The resort is in a perfect location in between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and we really appreciated the transportation provided by the resort to go into town. However, I'm not sure if we will be back. That timeshare experience really left a bad taste in our mouths. Oh, and we didn't really like staring at a massive picture of Dolly Parton in our room. We ended up taking it down and hiding it in a closet. LOL
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you were less than pleased with your recent stay at our resort. We have a firm commitment to all of our valued guests to make your vacation as wonderful as possible. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Luna
4 out of 5
by Felicia

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Westgate Smokey Mountains Not Pleasent

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: I liked the check in process they had a nice swim area we never used it though.
Cons: Ensure rooms are fully functional, Improve showers, Install elevators for top floor due to luggage, Take customer issues more serious, Larger rooms.
Location: There were plenty of things to do because we were in the Smokies and you have Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
The check in was a nice experience once we got the room it went down hill from there. Climbing 3 flights or stairs, room so tiny 3 people could barely move. Toilet ran all night long and kept us up. Shower was so horrible you spent more time trying to figure out how to make the water hit your body. Water pressure was horrible and a cheap shower head did not help. Westgate has been calling me for years about their timeshare I would never buy a time share there and I will never stay at another Westgate plan horrible experience. I called the so called Steward of my room and ask for a different room because we were up all night due to the toilet running. I was told they would send someone to fix the toilet or move my room if it could not be fixed. Imagine my surprise when we got back to the room the toilet was not fixed and I was not given a new room. There was banging very early each morning and the walls are thin we could here people next to us just talking. BEWARE: Don't stay at Westgate and Don't buy a timeshare. You have been warned.. The price to stay there is way to high for the small rooms you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you were less than pleased with your recent stay at our resort. We have a firm commitment to all of our valued guests to make your vacation as wonderful as possible. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Luna
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Beautiful

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Service is amazing , all of the stuff was really kind with us , Superclean ,we come back again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed a great overall experience at our resort. It would be a pleasure to see you vacation with us again soon. Luna
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from do not rent

It's ok... it's burned 70%.

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on CheapTickets
Hotel is burned 70%, the fire was really bad and only some rooms were ok. The could not acomodate our group in the same building... even after finding out that half of the rooms were empty. All they want to do is sell you a time share!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Ariel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We unfortunately did have most of our resort destroyed by the wildfire. This did have had an impact on reservations and we do apologize for this inconvenience. This is certainly something we were not expecting to happen. We have been rebuilding and are open and ready for our guests to visit. We hope to have you back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your star rating. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Luna
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your five star review with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation at our resort and hope to see you again soon. Luna
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not get to stay but one night

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We only got to stay 1 night. The fires ran us out. The room I requested wasn't what I received . we stay here before and brought friends this time to show them how beautiful it was. Instead we got a view of the restaurant and no view of the mountain. We were basically in a hotel on the fourth level. The building we were in was at the bottom of the mountain. I am in no way pleased. I would also like a refund for the days I was not able to stay. Since we left prior to the check in our on Monday Kama I should be reimbursed for Monday Tuesday and Wednesday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. There has been a massive forest fire in and around the City of Gatlinburg and the local authorities have evacuated the surrounding area. The Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort has sustained some damage, and will be closed until further notice. Please be sure to contact your booking agency regarding a refund for the nights that you were unable to stay as we are working with guests who were unable to fulfil their stay due to the wildfire. Please join us in keeping our team members and the local community in your thoughts and prayers. We hope to see you back again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall nice place to go

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The grounds and staff were lovely but the villa could have used some attention. Microwave was missing the plastic under the glass to keep the plate from wobbling and the bathroom floor grout at the sink needed cleaning attention(made it feel dirty).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. By sharing your likes and dislikes we are able to know when and where improvements can and need to be made in order to provide the best vacation experience possible for our guests. We hope that you will come back to vacation with us again soon. Luna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed for the price.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Alot. Just read our experience.
Location: Plenty of shops and stores nearby but you have to walk or drive to them. Parking is at a premium.
We arrived about 4:30 pm to check.....and stood in line with about 75 or more other people trying to check in. For a holiday weekend this was said. They didn't have enough people on hand to handle the check in and even had check-in stations that weren't being used that could have made it go faster. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This being the only plus to the stay. We were taken to our room were we were shown what things were what by a staff member. The tile floor was still wet (the wife dried the floor with a towel from the bath room) and the dish washer was still warm from someone running it before we arrived. Although there was a coffee pot in the room, there was no coffee, filter, etc for it. Our one and only window was facing the 6 air conditioner units of the building next to us. Our bedroom was along a wall where on the other side was the outside stairs. Every time someone went up and down the stairs you heard it. The bedroom and bathroom should have been switched. We had two TV's.......both with fuzzy pictures and one that always had a green cast in the picture. Upon leaving we were given "complimentary" tickets for a cup of coffee from their gift shop. We've stayed in other places for less (a lot less) and received more (coffee in the room, working TV, a view and a continental breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Westgate customercare, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Although we are sadden to know that your stay didn't meet expectations. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Ray