Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice and quiet hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
It was a great getaway. Loved the size of the room and our view
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed return customer

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years. The facility is old and needs to be upgraded. There are a few upgrades that have been made such as the bathroom sink. The bathroom sink however is very impractical. The hotel has real fireplaces which is the main attraction for us. Only 1 small bundle of wood was provided at check in and the rest of the wood had to be purchased. Plan to spend about $20 dollars for wood for an evening. Unlimited firewood use to be provided however with the change in management this service is not available. The chimney does not draw properly therefore you must crack the door to keep the room from becoming smoky. Regarding the personnel, the day check in woman was not friendly or warm. We were disappointed.....the price went up and the amenities went down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Nashville

Very nice, clean room, comfortable bed. Loved FP!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Haves stayed here many times, Love it each time! The Sound of the Brooke is so relaxing and I love the wood burning FP. The housekeeping staff is very nice and so is the front desk. It's really the whole package for a great price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FAMILY STAY

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: THE BIG ROOMS WITH THE FIREPLACE.
Cons: THE FRONT-DESK CLERKS NEED BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE TRAINING. THE REMOTE -CONTROL DIDN'T WORK AND THEY MADE US WALK OVER TO THE FRONT DESK TO REPLACE.
THE HOTEL WAS VERY COMFORTABLE AND NICE. I THINK THE FRONT-DESK CLERKS NEED TO KNOW HOW TO USE THE FIREPLACE. WE HAVE TO WALK TO THE FRONT-DESK TO GET WOOD. I FEEL LIKE EACH ROOM SHOULD ALREADY HAVE WOOD BEFORE RENTING THEM OUT.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is a dump

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to downtown Gatlinburg.
It was a terrible experience. We checked in around 7pm. The hallway is so dark, the light bulb is broken. There are trash bag right in front of out door. After the managed to open the door in the dark, the light switch right besides the door does not help. So I managed to get to the phone and called the front desk, the receptionist told me "well, if there is no light, I would try to flip the switch first." as we are so stupid we don't know how to flip switch. Anyway, I told her I need help, she told me she will send someone. However, we waited several hours no one eve came. We managed to use the bedside table lamps. The room is freezing cold. I turned on the air conditioner. It took whole night to warm up the room. The heater is so loud, I had nightmares with such a loud noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Not downtown but under a mile walking. Good value.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Large room, microwave to heat up coffee, nice fridge for soft drinks. This hotel is in decent condition except the elevator area.
Cons: Dim lighting. The area around the elevator needs to be renovated (flooring especially).
Location: The location is a good walk downhill to town and uphill coming back. If you want a fabulous lunch or dinner, go to the Park Grill.
Very nice and friendly staff. Breakfast is great if you want a bagel or hot biscuit and a cup of coffee, which is perfect for me. You can bring it up to your room. My room had a microwave and nice fridge as well as a coffeemaker and good counter space. Two large beds, fireplace, and plenty of room. My only complaint was the dim lighting. I couldn't see to put my makeup on anywhere. There is a safe in the closet. Bathroom was modernised, and there is a hair dryer under the sink. Plenty of towels. I am happy with the value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious but dated.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
We needed the value price and this worked for us. The room was spacious but decor was dated. The free breakfast was a nice perk. The view of the stream was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
It was ok. They were redoing the bathroom in the room next to us. Could not rest during the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms very out dated very dusty clumps hangiing from ceiling fan.bath tub stained carpet very old. Cracks in door . tv had bad picture. Over all comfortable just not the cleanest place we have stayed at. Should be $40 room breakfast was lousy. Would not stay here again. We were charged more then what was agreed upon during check in. Was told a certain amount and handed her the card then noticed on computer we were charged more then she said. Went to front desk and they could not explain or produce a receipt. ???? Wanted to check out day earlier but were refused refund with out 48 hour notice. Never again read reviews first
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outdated, acceptable for our needs, not a "resort"

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location was just outside of the tourist trap that Gatlinburg is. Good location to the Smoky Mountains National Park Entrance. Nice creek behind for kids to jump from rock to rock and to be kids.
Cons: Dated. Rooms needed work. Not sure where the main photo came from because there was no grassy area like what is shown, very misleading. Breakfast was not healthy at all.
Location: Good location to park entrance. Away from the commercialized downtown Gatlinburg, but close enough if that is what you are into.