Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Carlton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Harold

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average With a Side of Bears

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for about a week. They advertise a fireplace in the room, but what we got instead was an electric fireplace that didn't even heat up. Room was relatively clean despite cockroaches living inside our alarm clock, making it unusable. The main issue we had overall was a bear came outside room one night to eat our trash. Now I get that it's the Smokies and bears are common, but it appeared that the hotel staff had gotten lazy and just put all of our trash into a non-"bear proof" garbage can instead of the dumpster. The trash can had blocked our door in the morning, so we had to step around it. I thought maybe the hotel staff would say something, but they just quietly put the trash up and pretended nothing happened. There was also what we could now confirm was bear scat on the sidewalk earlier in the week, which they also took a day or two to clean it up. When we checked out I was asked how our stay was and I mentioned the bear issue. The guy at Econolodge (where Chalet Inn's office is) just thought it was "cool." Honestly, I did not think it was "cool." We were too worried to be out too late after the bear encounter wondering if we were going to get mauled to death or not. Overall, pretty average stay. If it had a real fireplace and no roaches in the clock, I may have overlooked the bear issue since this hotel does have very pretty views of the mountains, but next time I think we are just going to stay at the Four Seasons right next to the arcade.
4 out of 5
by Maurice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AL

Tourist town in mountains

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: This hotel was on life support. It should be razed and rebuilt. Not worth the money. For slightly more money I could have gotten a better place
Location: Shopping, horseback riding, hiking, skiing, white water rafting, entertainment venues.
Made best of bad situation. Paid $80 for a $30 room. Hotel staff admitted steering expedia customers to the worse room while advertising with old picture of best room. This was a classic bait and switch. Will reconsider using expedia in future, although expedia was taken advantage of. They need a quality control to verify their product.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close and Quiet

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Nice stay. Within walking distance of the main drag if you can take a small hill, but quiet. Just removed enough from the drag to get some peace. The room was a little retro, but spacious for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Could have been cleaner

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: location
The location was nice, but upon entering the room and checking it out, found dead bugs on the bathroom floor. Tried to call the front desk to complain, and the phone didn't work. Had to walk down to complain. They did send someone up to fix the phone and clean up the bugs. He couldn't fix the phone and told us he would bring us another phone. We waited over 1/2 hour and had to leave due to dinner reservations. We never did get the phone fixed.
5 out of 5
by Rob from Zephyr

Switched and Happy

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
The Chalet Inn was being refurbished at our recent visit. The staff from The Econo Lodge was super! They moved us to a room in their building that fabulous! The river view was beautiful and sounded peaceful from our room.
1 out of 5
by Alex from Columbus, Ohio

Please read before booking this hotel!

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
The moar disgusting hotel I've ever visited. We left early as 2 inch roaches crawled across the ceiling of our room. Trash outside was piled up and building was in general poor condition. Choose ANY other option!
2 out of 5
by Donnie

Unfortunately not recommended

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Friendy staff. Hotel is in serious need of renovation. The A/C sounded like a twin engine plane landing every time it came on.