Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City, TN

Would Recommend

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Location: Just outside of the business of Pigeon Forge but yet close enough to be to everything within a few moments.
We were just in town for the night to visit Dollywood the next day. Just what we needed....clean room, friendly staff, indoor pool and hot continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

visited family

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: beds rock
Cons: finish renovations
Location: shows are 30 minutes away, country tonite!!
under going renovations still awesome experience, breakfast is above aveage and wiil stay again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. I am so glad you found it awesome. and that you will come stay again. I am sorry for the renovations that are underway. We are trying very hard to interfere as little as possible. The end results was be amazing and we hope that you will come stay again soon to see them. Thank you again for your time. Best Regards, Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How does this place get high ratings?

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: It looks nice from the outside.
Cons: Update everything.
When we arrived there was scaffolding in the lobby with wet paint signs. The front desk person was weird. The room was a non smoking room that reeked of smoke when we entered it. The bedding was old and rough looking. We called the desk and they said they couldn't do anything for us except check us out. She didn't offer didn't offer to move our room nor did she offer to contact another hotel even though there was three within twenty minutes. We visit the area at least once a year but we will never stay at this place again. Stay away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to beach. Room not as described. Couch b

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Couch reviews was very uncomfortable and not one cover other than sheet ask clerk for one and it wasn't where it was suppose to be. Clerk was not warn and inviting the breakfast lady was very much like Hitler's warden she had no time for late by 5 min. To eat. They weren't even welcome by her
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Inn Willow River during your recent trip to the Smokies. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. I will be speaking with our breakfast staff to find out where the failure occurred. I will give our owners your information regarding our couches. Not for sure if this is the right hotel or not, we are not close to a beach, we are located on the outskirts of the mountains of Tennessee. Thank you again for taking your time. Best Regards, Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from johnson city, tn

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Great exterior look. Great price. Nice large rooms. Great housekeeping. Quiet. Cons: Whole hotel smells of chlorine and the breakfast is pretty bad and limited.They were working on stair case while we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn Willow River as your place to stay on your recent trip to the Smokies. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a good review and sharing you advise with us. I am so pleased that you found us affordable with nice, large, clean rooms. I am so sorry that you found the breakfast lacking. We are in the processes of changing that up some while we are remodeling. So I hope you will return in the future so that we might can earn a 5 from you. Best Regards, Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Gold star

Posted Mar 11, 2017
In the process of being renovated but was still a delightful experience. Love the staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful rating you have given us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and that the staff treated you so well. We are very proud of our team. Thank you for noticing. We appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts and we hope you will come see us again in the near future. Best Regards Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and not very clean

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Like all travelers I did a ton of research prior to booking. I read both good and bad reviews and I must admit I was pleased with the managements feedback on the negative reviews for this hotel. When we first got to our room, the smell of smoke was so strong, I actually called the front desk to switch rooms..not from our room phone because it did not work. My husband, brought some air freshening spray and it did help mask the smell. We had our infant with us, so the last thing I wanted to do was to expose him to third hand smoke. Our room looked like it had not been cleaned in a while, dust was gathered on surfaces so thick that I could actually write in it. There was mold on the mini fridge's door and dried tooth paste on the faucet. I was trying not to be a pain to the hotel's staff so I decided to bite the bullet and remain in our room..since I was unsure if the next room would be much better. At 11pm, I was soothing our baby while sitting on the other bed and noticed a piece of old bacon laying on the box spring..we hadn't had bacon since being there. I had to question if we even had clean sheets since I'm not quite sure how the sheets could have been changed without house keeping seeing the bacon or the bacon being knocked off in the process. The base boards were dirty, the balcony furniture was molded. The love seat in the room was so worn down and dirty looking I wouldn't allow our four year old to go near it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by jan w., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are under new ownership with complete renovations already beginning, Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Jan Whaley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel along West Prong Little Pigeon River

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Desk Clerk professionalism
We had hoped to have the front desk clerk give us the room for the Expedia rate without going through the site but she claimed she could not. We had spotty wi-fi service and it took us a half an hour to get the room which we felt was unnecessary. The clerk made many filp comments about the situation and did not act professional at all. I wanted to take our money somewhere else but my wife insisted we stay here. There are so many other accommodations near by and we will try one of the others next time in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
I do want to apologize for failing your expectations. I have shared this with my staff and owners in regards to the Expedia rate and wi-fi. We always try to provide excellent service and hate that we didn't provide this for you on your stay. We are expecting that in the next few weeks we will be updating our system. We do hope that you will give us another chance in future, we are under new ownership with renovation already beginning. Best Regards, Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
This was a great hotel to stay at. The area was congested with traffic, but the hotel was our island of rest and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Jan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to let us know how your recent stay at our hotel was. We appreciate the wonderful rating you have given us. While we are a little further out, we feel as you do, that we are more peaceful. With all the addition of lanes the county has added, it makes it much easier to get around and come time to leave you have such easy access out of town. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will visit us again soon. Best Regards, Jan Whaley General Manager Clarion Inn Willow River
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodation

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Convenience and cleanliness!
Cons: N/A
Very nice room with a balcony overlooking the river!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by RHODA T., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you can visit us again in the near future. Sincerely, Rhoda T. Front Desk Manager