Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overall, nice hotel..

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The large rooms and balcony
Cons: It could use some remodeling.
Location: Lots of shops and love the downtown
A bit dated, but rooms were big. And a balcony to sit out on was nice in the evening and morning time. Not as fancy as the newer hotels, but comfortable. Get over the outdated and worn look and it is ok to stay at. Close to downtown and we walked everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Close to everything down town. So we walked a lot.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Very surprised! Before coming I read lots of reviews. Truth was I was cared to death. But we got there Fri night and was totally not what I expected. The hotel was better than other hotels that have not been renovated. Nothing was falling apart. I felt safe, staff expecially Michelle was awesome. Room was nice we all enjoyed or stay. WE WILL GO BACK AND STAY HERE AGAIN!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Trashy and out-dated

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: nOTHING
The Hotel was not as pictured or described on the website. The rooms haven't been updated since the Hotel was constructed, toilet paper holder was torn off the wall, mold and water damage in the bathroom, table that held the coffee pot only had three legs ( one had been sawed off ), continental breakfast was not available, according to the staff their order for food and drinks had not been delivered, we were there for four nights. I would not suggest anyone staying at this OVER PRICED DUMP!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ga

O K for the price.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It was within walking of downtown.
Location: Tram & trolleys were nearby.
I was expecting a balcony overlooking the river. Motel was across the street from the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the sites, general store, park, restaurants, and trolley.
Cons: Better T/P Cheep Cheep Cheep :-( Bring your own!! lol
Location: Take the driving tours to view the mountains sites. The 11 mile Loop too into the park (saw 2 Black Bears) Don't forget Hillbilly Golf and Car Show!!
Didn't spend much time at the Hotel. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony chilling out after a long day of walking. Walk to The General Store, Breakfast at Crockets (great omelets) Lunch at The Smoky Mt. Brewery Yummy Pizzas!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

ok close to shopping and food

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: doors are old and 3 panel wooden that you could shake, the room had a backdoor that a good hard hit would open, i placed a chair at it
Location: locations is great one block off the main street of town, close to mountain activity
the hotel is old and dated, the staff is very nice but the facility needs Major updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Gatlinburg

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Location was good for walking to area shops and restaurants. Breakfast was ok would have liked a better variety. Our shower didn't work well and having tub bath unable to hold water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Absolutely disgusting hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This hotel was absolutely disgusting and i will never stay there again. To be honest, I opened the room and it was disgusting inside and there was a peepee pad on the bed like animals were on it and not enough of anything. It looked like a hotel out of a horror movie. The pictures are not like what it is really like. I will never recommend it to anyone ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monroe, nc

Nice hotel with comfortable beds & balconies!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very pretty & clean rooms the beds were the best!loved location & balconies!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morristown, TN

Within walking distance to about everything but...

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Staff was super friendly, plenty of hot water, walking distance to town, fairly quiet.
Cons: Just about everything in the room could be improved. The breakfast needs a lot of help. Room could have been cleaned much better.
Location: Towards the end of River Rd, it's within walking distance to everything in town or hop on a trolley and ride.
The River Edge Motor Lodge is old and outdated. Although the staff was great, this is the worst place we've ever stayed in Gatlinburg. There are only so many times they can "update" an old hotel room and the king room with fireplace we had was way past it's prime. The bed was comfortable but only had 3 small pillows. The TV was a flat screen but about the size of a computer monitor. On the plus side, plenty of hot water and good lighting in the bathroom. Heat and A/C unit was extremely noisy but kept the room comfortable, even on 90+ degree days. We will not stay here again but the price was right on the room so we gave it a try. Live and learn...