Ratings based on 1,736 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ga

O K for the price.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It was within walking of downtown.
Location: Tram & trolleys were nearby.
I was expecting a balcony overlooking the river. Motel was across the street from the river.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the sites, general store, park, restaurants, and trolley.
Cons: Better T/P Cheep Cheep Cheep :-( Bring your own!! lol
Location: Take the driving tours to view the mountains sites. The 11 mile Loop too into the park (saw 2 Black Bears) Don't forget Hillbilly Golf and Car Show!!
Didn't spend much time at the Hotel. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony chilling out after a long day of walking. Walk to The General Store, Breakfast at Crockets (great omelets) Lunch at The Smoky Mt. Brewery Yummy Pizzas!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

ok close to shopping and food

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: doors are old and 3 panel wooden that you could shake, the room had a backdoor that a good hard hit would open, i placed a chair at it
Location: locations is great one block off the main street of town, close to mountain activity
the hotel is old and dated, the staff is very nice but the facility needs Major updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Gatlinburg

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Location was good for walking to area shops and restaurants. Breakfast was ok would have liked a better variety. Our shower didn't work well and having tub bath unable to hold water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Absolutely disgusting hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This hotel was absolutely disgusting and i will never stay there again. To be honest, I opened the room and it was disgusting inside and there was a peepee pad on the bed like animals were on it and not enough of anything. It looked like a hotel out of a horror movie. The pictures are not like what it is really like. I will never recommend it to anyone ever!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from monroe, nc

Nice hotel with comfortable beds & balconies!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very pretty & clean rooms the beds were the best!loved location & balconies!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morristown, TN

Within walking distance to about everything but...

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Staff was super friendly, plenty of hot water, walking distance to town, fairly quiet.
Cons: Just about everything in the room could be improved. The breakfast needs a lot of help. Room could have been cleaned much better.
Location: Towards the end of River Rd, it's within walking distance to everything in town or hop on a trolley and ride.
The River Edge Motor Lodge is old and outdated. Although the staff was great, this is the worst place we've ever stayed in Gatlinburg. There are only so many times they can "update" an old hotel room and the king room with fireplace we had was way past it's prime. The bed was comfortable but only had 3 small pillows. The TV was a flat screen but about the size of a computer monitor. On the plus side, plenty of hot water and good lighting in the bathroom. Heat and A/C unit was extremely noisy but kept the room comfortable, even on 90+ degree days. We will not stay here again but the price was right on the room so we gave it a try. Live and learn...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

get away

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: close to all the attractions
Location: it was close enough to walk to all the attractions as well as to get something to eat
it was a good place to stay....clean and I had no issues with it or the staff.....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Charming hotel in a great location!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a mini vacation and the location was perfect. Walking distance in the heart of the town. The room itself was very charming, obviously a little older but if you like history and charm you will like it. The bed was perfect, the bathroom was clean and efficient. Only thing was the power outlets, only 2 would work all others didn't. Great view from your room towards the mountains
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Nice,, great location , within walking distance ,,, quiet