Ratings based on 1,588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Your ski lodge in town.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
This is our second stay and it was great. The big tub had enough hot water to fill all the way (no cooling), the fireplace made the room instantly cozy. This is 100 yards from the tram to slopes, make this your ski lodge in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Good value, comfortable room

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: I liked the size of the room, the comfortable beds, and the showers.
Cons: The decor could be updated; it's definitely 20th century decor rather 21st century. Then again, the cost of the rooms would probably go up.
Location: We were close to restaurants and right around the corner from Ober Gatlinburg. The main strip was only one block away, and the aquarium was close by.
The staff was friendly, and the check-in/out process was fast and easy. We arrived late in the evening and received a courtesy call from the desk person, who was very polite and friendly. She waited for us to arrive before closing the office. Our room was quite large. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and the heater kept us toasty warm. The location was very good also as we were across the street from the river and a block off the main strip. We found the water pressure to be excellent, and except for a 2-3 second span, it stayed hot throughout our showers (my niece's showers lasted about 20 minutes). I would stay here again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Jessica- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at River Edge Motor Lodge. We are very pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ninety Six, SC

Snow Searchers

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Location: Great location...walking distance to everything!
We had a great experience....went to find snow and we did! Hotel staff was exceptional. Went over and above to make sure everything was perfect! Will visit again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Jessica- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at River Edge Motor Lodge. We are very pleased to hear everything was to your liking. Our staff takes pride in making the guest's stay as best as they possibly can with wonderful attitudes and exceptional customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Clean, nice beds. If you are looking for a cheap place to just spend the night. This place is good and close to attractions. Doesn't have a lot of parking, but you don't need to move your car because everything is in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Jessica- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at River Edge Motor Lodge. We have one parking spot per room on property. Like the guest stated, once parked why move being so close to town. Hope to have you stay in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Wet Moldy Christmas

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Krispy Kreme doughnuts and the location to where the tram to Ober Gatlinburg
Cons: A complete overhaul of the rooms!!!
Location: one block from the Tram to Ober, short walk to Smokey Mountain Brewery and the rest of the area
Great location, great customer service Poor quality in the rooms. We stayed 12-24-2015 thru 12-26-2015. At time of check-in room 107 walked in to our Supposed non smoking room, smelled like smoke and mold, the toilet was running and had over flowed. The moved us to 106 better smelling at first but as the time past and the rain and the toilet from the next room caused flooding in our bathroom they were quick to repair. However as the time with the rain continued the smell in the room became damp old musty moldy smelling. Christmas day we were out of the room most of the day but when we returned the room was even worse then when we left. They were full per the front office so there was no other room to move us too. I almost left that night but we decided to stick it out. Bad move staying, my wife moved the night stand to find the outlet and she created a stench that I couldn't sleep that night. We left before 7am. We won't be staying in this place ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean, great location, need updated

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was helpful and kind
Cons: Needs Updated
Location: Great restaurants all around motel and within walking distance, we liked Peddler, Bennett's, Blaines,
We loved the staff and location, room was clean and beds comfortable just needs spruced up a bit, but for the price it was great! We weren't in room except to sleep anyway. Had a great time, Peddler Restaurant was awesome and Bennett's was great too. Couldn't ask for better place to stay close to everything and on a budget. We'll definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coker Creek, Tn.

Great location

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: everything was fine
Location: Ober Gatlinburg within walking distance
Nice hotel - great location - shopping - restaurants & Ober Gatlinburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Ok experience

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Good central location to downtown. Poor continental breakfast. Nice gas fireplace in room but toilet ran whole time and inconsistent hot water. Adequate for price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatlinburg, TN.

Old hotel close to the strip in Gatlinburg, TN.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
We had a great time but the hotel needs a LOT of up dating. But some what clean and in walking distance to the strip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older & run down hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2015
This hotel was older & very run down. The rooms were clean but very dated. You could hear the conversations in the next rooms with thin walls. It was very "shady" location. The beds were very comfy though (best trait of the place). The staff was friendly. We were late checking in & they called to check on us to verify if we were still coming. I would not recommend this place, as I was very disappointed & regretting staying here.