Ratings based on 1,831 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is going to be in high demand.

Posted May 11, 2017
Location: the location is perfect, about one block off the main road towards the river. Walk to all of the attractions on the main st. .
The hotel will be in high demand once it is finished. It is in the process of being renovated and most of the rooms have been completed and they are great! Comfy beds, refrigerator, microwave ,& Fireplaces. Our room had a couple of problems that the manager tried to take care of ASAP but was unable to and we had to move rooms an inconvenience but not horrible. The rooms being newly done were missing a couple of minor touches still the first room, towel bars and hooks in the bathroom and the second chairs on the balcony. They are still working on it so it's ok, the balconies have not been done yet and are getting all new furniture.I can't wait to see it once it is all done the whole outside is getting a face lift along with the lobby. I hope they keep the staff in place because i have not met a nicer one in a long time. We will definitly be going back and will recommend this hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear “The hotel is going to be in high demand,” Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are excited about all the great things that are happening here, and are thrilled that you are just as excited! It was our pleasure hosing your stay in Gatlinburg. We hope you will come back and see all the new improvements!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nice value. Updated rooms. Courteous staff. Only downside rooms are lacking bedside outlets.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck, Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We are always striving to provide a great product and service to our guests. We are currently completing the finishing touches to our renovated guest rooms, including more outlet options. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see all the wonderful improvements that we are making!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice hotel close to Downtown, the beds were a little too soft for me and my husband, wish the rooms had coffee makers
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were enjoyed hosting you and your husband. We apologize that you did not have a coffee maker in your room. All our guest rooms are now completely renovated, and each one has a coffee maker in them. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see the wonderful improvements we have made to this hotel!
4 out of 5
by Donna

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Thank you for the great rating! Please come back and see all the wonderful improvements we have been making to the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Comfortable and convent hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
This an older motor lodge but was comfortable with nice amenities. It was downtown and close to many restaurants and shopping. On a sadder note that has nothing to with this hotel., we left Gatlinburg one day before the fires swept through the community. We hope the River Edge will recover and that the staff who work there are safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gloria, Thank you for the great review. Since the fires, we have been busy with renovations. All of our guest rooms are completely renovated. We are still making improvements to the rest of the property. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see all the great things that are happening here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time . Would stay there again .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Dear Sherrie, Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed hosting your stay in Gatlinburg. We hope you will stay here again and experience our nicely renovated guest rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Outdated hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Stayed 3 nights. Although staff was attentive, would not recommend. Out dated, minimum parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you did not have a good time because of our then outdated rooms. We have recently renovated all of our guest rooms. We hope you will give us another chance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and spacious room

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, checking to see if our room was ready earlier than normal so our baby could nap. They helped with giving us directions and maps and were so friendly! The building itself was nothing special. I was disappointed that it was not more unique or special. But the room was wonderful! Spacious with charming touches, and a fireplace that helped take away the chill of the air. We came for an anniversary and found the lodge very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Convenient to everything. Easy access parking lot. Friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice enough and staff was friendly. At check in they send you to get a parking pass with a guy that pretends to be a concierge when he is really a salesman trying to send you to a pitch show for some vacation company.