Ratings based on 2,937 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from flint, michigan

Nice hotel close to town great view on balcony

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Fun time in Gatlinburg. Everything within walking distance. Hotel restaurant drafts a little pricey on drinks. Especially when you can buy moonshine in town for 25 a jar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. It brings us happiness to learn that you were able to enjoy of our prime Gatlinburg location during your stay. Your comments regarding our Drafts Sports Bar & Grill will assist us to better ourselves for our future visitors. It is our hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again during your next visit to town. Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Nice hotel by the river.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Hotel with excellent location. Walking distance to: attractions, restaurants, aquarium, trolley, Gatlinburg trail distance 2.0 mile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
It is so wonderful to learn that you were able to enjoy of your Gatlinburg visit with us, and that you took advantage of our prime location. It is our hope that we are given the pleasure of serving you again during your future Gatlinburg visit. Nat
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

disgusting smelly room

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Will never stay here again! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived... So they gave us another room... It was so nasty! Smelly! The carpet had dirty stains... the bathroom was gross! I showered with my flip flops on... Where you place your tooth brush had what looked like man shavings on it... Smelled so bad! Dirty towel hanging on the rack looked like makeup all over it! The pool was full of ducks and duck poop! You couldn't walk without stepping in it! Would not recommend anyone to stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We are disappointed to learn that you may have had a less than exceptional stay with us. Cleanliness is most definitely one of our priorities, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is up to par for our guests. We hold our resort to very high standards, and expect to be contacted with any possible concerns that may arise. We sincerely hope that all of your possible housekeeping concerns were addressed by our resort staff; your full satisfaction is our sincere goal. It is our genuine hope that you may honor us with another opportunity to better impress and exceed your expectations. Nat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great motel, beautiful location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very large and clean. House keeping did a great job. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is such a delight to know that you enjoyed our ideal resort location and wonderful staff. It is also pleasing to hear that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We certainly hope to see you vacation with us again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jonesborough, Tn

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The only thing was the air condition made a loud noise and did not get the room cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is such a delight to know that you enjoyed our ideal resort location and wonderful staff. We certainly hope to see you vacation with us again soon. Luna
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from owensboro ky

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great location .. Friendly staff .We enjoyed our stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is such a delight to know that you enjoyed our ideal resort location and wonderful staff. We certainly hope to see you vacation with us again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Good location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
This hotel is a great location so you can walk wherever you want to go. Rooms need to be updated but were very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It brings us happiness to learn that you were able to take advantage of our prime and accessible Gatlinburg location, along with our cleanliness. Please be advised that we are currently in the process of updating our resort for the comfort of our guests. We would be happy to provide an already updated unit, as long as availability permits. It is our sincere hope that we may have the pleasure of better serving you again in the near future. Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Nice view of the Smokies!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The location and view
Cons: Breakfast. Fix the pool
Location: Gatlinburg
We keep going back to the same place because of the location to activities in Gatlinburg.. Unfortunately some guests allowed their children to run the halls yelling making sleep impossible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to learn that you found happiness in our location, view of The Great Smoky Mountains, and prime location. We are currently in the process of updating our property, including our resort's amenities. It is our hope that this was of no inconvenience to you. It is our hope that you may allow us another chance to better impress you in the future. Nat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to downtown for easy walking!!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
It was good hotel nice pool. The location made for easy walking to downtown shopping and eating. The room was clean and updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your feedback is appreciated and welcomed. It brings us happiness to learn that you enjoyed our resort grounds, pool, cleanliness, and prime location. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity of serving you again in the near future! Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First night was terrible

Posted Jun 25, 2016
First night we were in a room that was hot. It wasn't exactly on the river as I had requested. The mattress was about 2 inches thick. We felt like we were sleeping on the box spring. When we complained at the lobby the next day we were given a beatiful room with air on the river. It however is not a resort. No hot tubs as were advertised. One pool was closed. Overall, ok not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed to see that you may have experienced some concerns, but pleased that our resort staff quickly addressed said issues. We never want anything to stand in the way of your full satisfaction, and are always willing to do what we can to better your stay. It is our hope that you may allow us another opportunity to provide an overall exceptional experience. Nat