Ratings based on 2,906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great motel, beautiful location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very large and clean. House keeping did a great job. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jonesborough, Tn

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The only thing was the air condition made a loud noise and did not get the room cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Good location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
This hotel is a great location so you can walk wherever you want to go. Rooms need to be updated but were very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It brings us happiness to learn that you were able to take advantage of our prime and accessible Gatlinburg location, along with our cleanliness. Please be advised that we are currently in the process of updating our resort for the comfort of our guests. We would be happy to provide an already updated unit, as long as availability permits. It is our sincere hope that we may have the pleasure of better serving you again in the near future. Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Nice view of the Smokies!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The location and view
Cons: Breakfast. Fix the pool
Location: Gatlinburg
We keep going back to the same place because of the location to activities in Gatlinburg.. Unfortunately some guests allowed their children to run the halls yelling making sleep impossible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to learn that you found happiness in our location, view of The Great Smoky Mountains, and prime location. We are currently in the process of updating our property, including our resort's amenities. It is our hope that this was of no inconvenience to you. It is our hope that you may allow us another chance to better impress you in the future. Nat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to downtown for easy walking!!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
It was good hotel nice pool. The location made for easy walking to downtown shopping and eating. The room was clean and updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Your feedback is appreciated and welcomed. It brings us happiness to learn that you enjoyed our resort grounds, pool, cleanliness, and prime location. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity of serving you again in the near future! Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First night was terrible

Posted Jun 25, 2016
First night we were in a room that was hot. It wasn't exactly on the river as I had requested. The mattress was about 2 inches thick. We felt like we were sleeping on the box spring. When we complained at the lobby the next day we were given a beatiful room with air on the river. It however is not a resort. No hot tubs as were advertised. One pool was closed. Overall, ok not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed to see that you may have experienced some concerns, but pleased that our resort staff quickly addressed said issues. We never want anything to stand in the way of your full satisfaction, and are always willing to do what we can to better your stay. It is our hope that you may allow us another opportunity to provide an overall exceptional experience. Nat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was close to the river with a really nice view

Posted Jun 25, 2016
At first it wasn't good with no air but they fixed it and it was fine after that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are thoroughly pleased to see that our resort staff was able to address said concerns during your stay. We always aim to provide the utmost best for all of our guests. It is our hope that we are given another chance to better impress you during your next stay in Gatlinburg. Nat
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Motel old and dirty. Nothing like the pictures.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Update and clean it up
Location: Okay location if you don't mind dirt.
Motel was not a resort nor convention center, more like a trashy motel. Room was filthy, carpet torn and dirty. Light did not work. Or air conditioner. Looked nothing like pictures. When I Complained they moved us to another room that was cleaner but had construction going on right under my room including a Jack hammer along with screaming music. Would not recommend this place to my worse enemy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to see that you may have experienced some concerns during your stay. We are in the process of updating our resort as a whole. We would be happy to place you in an updated unit as long as our availability permits. We never intend to inconvenience you in any way, and certainly hope that any other concerns were brought to the attention of our staff. It is our hope that you may permit us another chance to better exceed your expectations in the future. Nat
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: wi fi
Location: Good location for walking to local shoppes. Close to shopping in Pigeon Forge and Dollywood.
Nice clean room, The wifi was out but you are however in the mountains.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It brings us happiness to see that you found pleasure in our location and cleanliness. We hope that we are able to serve you again soon! Nat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Loved the Room, but don't expect to check in early

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Rooms are very spacious and clean
Cons: The WiFi needs to be improved. Had Zero access for 3 days. Didn't die without it though.
Location: This Hotel is PERFECTLY located to everything in Downtown Gatlinburg. Lots of shopping choices and great restaurants in walking distance
I love this Hotel and have stayed here before, but I was disappointed that I arrived 25 minutes early and there was absolutely NO WAY they could let me check in before 3:00 PM. There was also a Flat Panel TV advertised that was not in room either.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. It brings us happiness to learn that you were able to enjoy of your clean and spacious unit, along with our prime location. Please be advised that our check-in time is 4:00 p.m. We are always happy to provide an early check-in when we can. This is based on availability; if your unit is not available, we are unable to check you in. We are in the process of updating many features at our resort. It is our sincere hope that said concerns did not hinder you from fully enjoying your stay. We hope to better impress you during your next visit. Nat