Ratings based on 3,306 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Dont be misled.

Posted May 2, 2017
Read the hotel descriptions and look at the pictures. Then imagine the complete opposite.....and there you are! I will never stay there again. Amazing location. But not worth it whatsoever.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our resort. While we strive to deliver every guest with an enjoyable experience during their vacation with us, we appear not to have met our goal during your stay. We will use your feedback to continue to improve our services and guest satisfaction. Your comments have been shared with the resort management team to improve our services and correct any possible deficiencies that you may have encountered during your stay. Ensuring our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Gatlinburg. Luna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Hard pass

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Room appeared "clean" but had toys from assumed previous customers kids stuffed under bed. Creepy. Very bare. King size room, one very outdated tv, a dresser and table. Broken coffee pot and mini fridge. Would recommend any place else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly do our best to ensure our guests’ overall satisfaction. We know how many choices you have when staying in this city and we are glad you chose our facility. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our guests' expectations. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your needs. Luna
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Bed was comfortable, room good size. Loved the balcony. Bathroom small needs updating. Expected a little more for the money. No breakfast or coffee in the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you discovered our Westgate River Terrace Resort and that you enjoyed its comfort along with the view. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking how to improve our guests' experiences. We hope you visit us again. Nicole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to maintain attractions

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Room was not what was shown. Curtains old and dirty. Not what expecting. Poor parking. Left a day early
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Luna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Florida

Dingy, dirty, moldy

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The terrace on our unit and the staff.
Cons: Needs paint, new carpets and new linens....It was as dark and dingy as possible. How about HD TV? AND the WiFi did not work. No excuse for no WiFi
Location: Location fine except very hilly. Down hill from all rooms but we knew that going in. It's Gatlinburg. Lots to do.
I was glad they had room since another hotel did not honor our reservation but this is a very old and dingy hotel that need a lot of cleaning and replacing. One of our rooms didn't even have a closet or rack to hang clothes. Ours had a rack about a foot long. Linens, blankets, carpets all looked filthy. My socks got black. They had nothing but shampoo and soap. No lotions or conditioner. It was a terrible place. I was very unhappy there. Only the terrace was passable. Nice clean chairs with nice view. But the restaurant was open only on the weekends and the food was served cold. On the other hand, the staff at the desk was wonderful and deserve kudos for trying to keep that awful place running. It would have been kind if it had burned down in the fire and you had to rebuild a place where people could be comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We certainly do our best to ensure our guests’ overall satisfaction. We know how many choices you have when staying in this city and we are glad you chose our facility. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality of service meets our guests' expectations. We hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your needs. Luna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We have stayed here before. Older hotel but rooms are clean. Love the fact that we can just walk into town for meals and shopping. Quiet area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to see that you found satisfaction in our cleanliness, wonderful views, and prime location to all of the town’s attractions. We are working hard to update our resort for the utmost satisfaction of our guests. It is our hope that we may have the lovely pleasure of serving you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chattanooga,tn

Clean room

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient to everything and clean and quiet.
Cons: Update the bathroom, have a working ice machine near the room not a broken one.
Location: Location was perfect, you can walk to everything to do in Gatlinburg
Hotel was very nice, our room was clean but not as nice. I believe we had one of the worst rooms because we had a discount. We were sent to the very back of the resort. Our room was not renovated completely. There was a huge stain on the carpet, the blinds did not open and close on the window and door. The bathroom was from 1950. The tub and sink had no finish left on them. The TV was nice and the room was freshly painted. The housekeeping staff did a great job. We were told there was a mountain view. Our room looked at the back of a high rise building and a parking lot. We did not get a view or the king bed we thought we were getting
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. It disappoints us to see that you may have encountered some concerns with your recent visit to our resort. We never intend to inconvenience you in any way. It is our hope that our management was able to address any additional concerns during your stay. The absolute satisfaction of our guests is of utmost priority. We hope to better impress you during your following visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great hotel great location ! Tub was an added bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. It brings us happiness to learn that you found pleasure in our accommodating resort staff, along with the location and atmosphere of our property. Your satisfaction is very important to us. It is our hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Nicole
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: this hotel could REALLY use a complete upgrade
Location: Ripley's aquarium is right next door & my must-go-to restaurant (Pancake Pantry) is very close.
After booking this hotel on Expedia, I called to request a room on the first floor since my husband has difficulty climbing stairs. Madalyn was very nice and was able to upgrade us to a river view room. The facilities are old (scarred tables, old rug, outdated bathroom) however, the beds were very comfortable & the view was great. The cooling unit was noisy, but this actually helped with blocking out other noises (thin walls). We will use this hotel in the future. It was a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. It brings us happiness to learn that you found pleasure in our accommodating resort staff, along with the location and atmosphere of our property. Your satisfaction is very important to us. It is our hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Nicole
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga

Perfect location next to aquarium

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Saw a cheap rate for one night away, wanted to try this hotel out, was not disappointed. Parking is a bear but once that was done no need to move because you are right in the middle of everything gatlinburg has to offer. They even have a decent restaurant/sports bar on-site. We will be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our ideal resort location in Gatlinburg and that you found comfort in your accommodations. We expect all of our team members to provide you with excellent customer service at all times and we are happy that our team was able to assist you with your needs. It is our hope to see you back again soon. Nicole