Ratings based on 1,105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Hotel was clean and had plenty of room. Only down falls where we were put into a handicap room. That being said the shower head was a removable shower head. The water pressure was horrible. We had loud children next door to us on our first night and birds chirping all night. My husband complained about the bed being to hard, but I found it to be ok. Over all this was a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Not as advertised!!

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Let me start by saying I've never wrote a bad review in my life... But I'm so aggravated by this place it needs to be said. Stayed in the "new building" a few years ago and had a decent experience. Came back and this place was a thorn in my side the whole trip. CHECKING IN WAS A BAD. the woman (the supervisor) was the rudest I've ever experienced. Plus someone was complaining about their room as I was checking in. I should have left then. THE BED WAS HORRIBLE. It had a metal brace sticking out 6" from the side and covered by a blanket, found that with my shin. The side of the bed was held together with painters tape. The mattresses slept as well as you could imagine a bed rigged together would be. The WALLS WERE PAPER THIN and we were blessed to share a wall with the pool which we found out is open all night - which made for a very long night of listening to screaming (which ended well after midnight the first night. Then we were woke up at 8:00 by the family next door sitting in front of their room. Not their fault, We could hear every whisper like they were sitting with us. MAID SERVICE: There was toothpaste spit all over the mirror when we checked in which was never cleaned. The maid never got all the dirty rags and towels out of the room. The maid one morning was yelling on the phone in Spanish outside our room for 15 minutes at 9:30 this morning. NO WIFI SIGNAL AND GLITCHY CABLE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel in the middle of Pigeon Forge.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The hotel is right across from Lumber Jack feud and The Island, which is a great plaza with shops, restaurants, and a Ferris wheel. You can easily walk the strip in either direction and find fun activities. The hotel room was nice, bathroom was clean, and the hotel staff was very friendly. We will be staying at this hotel again, for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshall, NC

Nice Overall

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Amenities
Cons: Maintenance of rooms. Heater made crazy noises and had to constantly slam the door or it would not latch.
Location: Almost in the middle of Pigeon Forge straight across from the Island. Good location.
Best part is the pool and hot tub that is indoors and 24hrs this time of year. Also a good location. Rooms were clean and a good breakfast. The problem I had was the room we stayed in for 3 nights had a really loud heater causing me to get very little sleep. It literally sounded like a wind storm was ripping threw the room at times almost causing me to jump out of the bed. Also had to slam the door in order to get it to latch. Not to big of a deal for me but I'm sure my sleeping neighbors didn't love it. Overall good place but can probably get pretty close to same quality and spend a lot less.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Could Have Been Better

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: 24 hour pool, good breakfast, comfortable beds
Cons: better customer service/friendlier staff, bigger parking lot
Location: Location was good. Walking distance to attractions and restaurants.
Our experience didn't start off well. The woman at the desk was not very friendly. She was borderline rude and a little condescending. The room itself was nice and seemed clean. However, when I went to open the drawer of the nightstand, it was really sticky as was the front of the drawer. I don't even want to know what was on it. We left for dinner and sightseeing and when we got back to the hotel the tiny parking lot was full, even thought the hotel itself was not full. We had to park in an overflow parking lot that was actually across an alley back behind the building we were in. We were a little worried about leaving our van there but there was no other choice. We were also disappointed to find that there was no folder or pamphlet anywhere in the room that listed hotel info such as place and time of breakfast, nearby restaurants, check out time, etc. The breakfast was pretty good and had a nice selection. The only downfall was we had to cross a street with our small kids to get to the building it was in. Overall, our stay was just okay. We don;t plan on staying there again though. Nicer staff would have made a huge difference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Close to stores

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good
Cons: Clerks need to be more informative and friendlier, especially to us seniors.. Rooms need tv guides.
Location: The location is great, shopping and food is in walking distance. Trolley stop close by.
This was our 2nd stay here, 1st time was great, this time it was NOT.. Desk clerk made us wait till almost check in time. Had to sit and wait 2 hours. Rooms were pre paid in full, but would not release our room keys till we gave a chg. card. Desk clerks were not informative to breakfast hours or that it was located in separate bldg., even though this was a return visit no one was helpful.. We were not able to put the heat on in the room as it smelled like burning hair there was so much dust in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Good place to stay.

Posted Dec 1, 2015
We stayed at Shular Inn a few weeks ago. The motel Christmas lights outside and decorations in the lobby were really beautiful. Our room which was in the front building, was clean and comfortable. The carpet, bed covers, and drapes were all nice and new looking. When we stayed before, we had a room in the back building which is newer and is where the breakfast bar is. The rooms in the newer building are nicer and larger. This is the picture that is featured on the Expedia website, but it's not the room they let you have when you check in. I even showed the check-in clerk the picture on the website showing my reservation, but she said that nicer room was a higher price than the room I booked. That is the reason I would not give a 5 star rating. I don't know if it is Shular Inn or Expedia's fault that this room picture is posted with the standard room price, but it is misleading.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely a 2.5 or less star hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Cons: This hotel is overdue for a remodel and get rid of the Jacuzzi and enlarge the bathrooms
Location: The island is walking distance. The Titanic exhibit Wonderworks and Hollywood Wax Museum are only a mile or two up the road.
This is an older hotel that has not been renovated in quite some time. There is a Jacuzzi in the room next to the bed that really doesn't need to be there. The bathroom is smaller than most cruise ships (which could be enlarged by getting rid of the Jacuzzi). We had problems with the AC unit on check-in and that was fixed rather quickly. On the second day our room door would not lock and we were forced to repack everything in the car rather than leaving it in an unlocked room. This was fixed while we were out that day so that was the good part. The maid service did make the beds and replace towels but that was about it as the bathrooms didn't seem to be cleaned daily. The biggest thing this hotel has going for it is location. It is almost directly across from the Island and you can easily walk there from the hotel. Overall the stay was passable as we were out most days and only spent about 8-10 hours in the room a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little things

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Cons: See Experience section.
Good value. Room was neat. The sink pop-up drain was broken and the folding closet door needed some attention. Detracting from the overall 'feel' of the motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indy

Motel in middle of Pigeon Forge

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: More staff for check-in and check-out. Better electrical circuits, so multiple lights not controlled by one wall switch. Provide breakfast.
Location: Pigeon Forge is getting to be like Branson, with several shows, lots of restaurants, Titanic, outlet mall. Great scenery in nearby Smoky Mtn Park
Traffic getting there, and going to dinner that evening, was terrible - it was a Friday evening in the fall. Couldn't get the reading lamp in the corner to turn on when we arrived, and called front desk for maintenance. Help arrived soon, and it turned out the light worked but the electrical outlet didn't. Switched the lamp to another outlet, but it would only turn on and off with the overhead light, making it difficult for one person to go to sleep while the other was reading. Another lamp in the room did have burned-out bulb. No breakfast provided at hotel, but Flapjacks next door was good.