Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, Needs Some Work

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The hotel is in a great location right on the main drag in Pidgeon Forge. The room really could use a little better cleaning as well as the rest of the hotel. You could tell things in our room never got wiped down very well, the mirrors were smeared. If they would put a little more work into in the hotel really could be improved. Staff was nice and friendly. Bed could use a little work, rough to sleep on.x
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Noisy

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The room was very clean and spacious, but was difficult to keep cool due to its size and having one air conditioner at the far end of the room away from the bed. We stayed three nights and during the first two nights it was extremely noisy. Other guests were up and down the halls both nights until after 1 a.m. Kids were yelling and running down the halls, adults talking loud, doors slamming, and the elevator alarm button was pressed several times. We could also hear the people in the room next to us. This hotel had the most inconsiderate guests of any hotel we've stayed in. The outside of the hotel is not upto standards as it shows in the photos. They do not serve breakfast, but there is a restaurant next door that does serve breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Knoxville, Tennessee

Needs some care.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Smokey Shadows Motel and Conference appears to be a previously high end location that has fallen on hard times. The seven story building was run down but with minimum care and repairs could be first rate. The king size bed had no skirting around the box springs and only had three small pillows. Blankets in the room appeared very old and one had, what appeared to be a cigarette burn. Since smoking in hotel/motel rooms has been illegal for several years, the blanket would appear to be old. The power knob on the microwave was missing and the drain stopper in the jacuzzi as well as the bathtub were broken and had to be manipulated to stay in place and hold the water in. The room appeared to be clean but debris in the hallway floor near our door was present the entire time we were there. The pool was very "no frills," which was fine. The six or seven chairs in the pool area were all broken to some extent. The towels for use at the pool were so rough that it was almost painful to dry off. We only saw the two women employees who were at the check-in desk the entire weekend. On Saturday while we were out seeing the sights, our towels were replaced, the bed made and the coffee packets were refilled in the coffee pot, so we know someone came in the room but we never saw any evidence of any housekeeping at anytime. With some tender loving care, Smokey Shadows could be a great motel complex...
3 out of 5
by Phillip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
It was nice. Beautiful view, jetted tub was nice, beds was comfy and the staff was extremely nice. I would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by RAQUEL

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
The pictures online of the motel is false advertising. The motel is old and run down. There is a newer section but only the outside appears to be new. The inside was dirty. The floors, the walls, and the windows. Our room was dirty. The window sills full of dirt, paint missing off the walls, & I'm not sure if the sheets on one of the beds were dirty or stained. Beds were very uncomfortable. I would never stay here again. And I now question the hotel's listed on the website since this was so far off from the description.
3 out of 5
by kyle from Atlanta, GA

Not memorable, but passable

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is acceptable. The beds were not especially comfortable, but they served the purpose. There was no breakfast, and the wifi did not work at all, and parking was a little tight. And while this is certainly not a "hidden gem" by any means, for what it is, the hotel was a good place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pictures are sooo deceiving!

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
The pictures of this hotel make it look like a very nice place but they must have been taken years ago because this place is so run down and just dirty. The pool and pool area are disgusting. The room was dirty, there was a key and key sleeve left from the previous guests, there was gum wrappers in the corner, the sink didn't drain without taking out the stopper, the a/c unit didn't work and when we came back there after leaving for the day the door to the patio was wide open from whoever came in to clean...this place needs a big time overhaul and owners who care. The hall way was dark and dingy, the public washer and dryer smelled like mold, the tiles were missing...DON'T STAY HERE!
4 out of 5
by Doris from Kentucky

Nice getaway

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very good but the floor hadn't been vacuumed well. The king sized beds were awesome.