Ratings based on 1,110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Nice close to shopping

Posted May 11, 2016
This was a nice enough condo suite. It could have been cleaner. The leather couch had some sort of residue on it that I cleaned off. The carpet had stains on it but I would expect that due to it being under a dinning room table. They need to just steam clean it and I'm sure it will be fine. The tile floor behind the bathroom door and behind the toilet needs to be mopped better. There was some hair on the shower wall panel. This can all be resolved with just some extra effort from house cleaning. Besides the cleanliness it was a very nice size living room and bedroom. It also stated I would have a balcony off my living room and one off the bedroom but we only had one off our bedroom. Over all I would recommend as long as u get a good price for the suites.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you for the honest review of your stay with us. Your concerns are very important to us and we can assure you they have been relayed to the appropriate persons so that we can take the necessary steps to prevent the same mistakes from occurring in the future. Thank you for your time and comments. We look forward to serving you again and wish you the very best in the meantime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great for families!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Room, amenities, value. Loved it all!
Cons: Nothing. We loved everything.
Location: Perfect spot close to many attractions.
We loved our stay here. The room was clean and it had tons of room. We had a living room, dining room kitchen and bedroom with 2 queens. Loved the washer and dryer in the room. We were able to get our laundry from swimming clean which was so nice. Loved the patio area of our room. And we lived in the pools. They were all heated which was a huge bonus and will keep us coming back. Hubby and I enjoyed the sauna. The value was great. We will be coming back and recommending.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for the glowing review of your stay with us! It is always nice to receive positive comments from our guests and it does wonders to bolster our team's morale. We thank you for the vote of confidence and hope that we can continue to provide you with the same great room at a fair price for all of your future vacations! Have a wonderful day and safe travels! Sincerely, Jason Smith Manager on Duty The Resort at Governor's Crossing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I

Nice hotel close to all amusements

Posted Mar 28, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The indoor pool area was nicer than I expected. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The hotel was close to everything we expect wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and your comments are no different! We all work so very hard to make our guests' stay an enjoyable one and when our staff hear such words of encouragement, it only serves to validate our dedication to our guests. If you think the indoor pool area is nice, you should definitely come back in the Summer and enjoy our Movies by the Poolside which is shown on a giant inflatable screen on the pool deck in the outdoor pool area! We look forward to seeing you again real soon and wish you all the very best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pigeon forge.

Close to everything yet no traffic sounds

Posted Mar 20, 2016
We loved our stay. No problems except couch sofa was very uncomfortable. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! We appreciate all of the comments our guests choose to share with us and welcome any opportunity for improvement. It was fantastic to learn that you loved your stay with the sofa sleeper being the exception. We will inspect the sofa in your room and make sure that there are no issues with it. Since these sofas are only a year old, your comment gives us cause for concern. Please know that our staff are always available to help make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you imagine. We look forward to serving you and your family for many years to come and wish you all the best in the meantime!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! We appreciate all of the comments our guests choose to share with us and welcome any opportunity for improvement. It was fantastic to learn that you loved your stay with the sofa sleeper being the exception. We will inspect the sofa in your room and make sure that there are no issues with it. Since these sofas are only a year old, your comment gives us cause for concern. Please know that our staff are always available to help make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you imagine. We look forward to serving you and your family for many years to come and wish you all the best in the meantime!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Overprice, cheap and unclean! Don't stay in it!

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: pool
Cons: Everything needs to be improved.
I rarely write review, but I will have to tell the guest who is going to book this hotel. It is overpriced, the room is dirty, the door to balcony is moldy, the carpet is bad smell, all the furniture and decoration are very cheap, the bed and the pillows are old and uncomfortable. If you wish to have a good trip, stay away from this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that we failed to ensure that your room was cleaned according to our company standards. It is never our intention to allow our guests to check into a room that hasn't been cleaned thoroughly. We will be sure to address the issues you have brought to our attention. We hope you will consider affording us with another opportunity to show you just how important our guests' complete satisfaction is to all of us here at The Resort at Governor's Crossing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Stayed at this hotel for my daughters gymnastics meet. Very pleased with the room layout, very roomy and loved the full kitchen. Rooms clean and the indoor pool was just a perk the kids loved. Will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when our staff's hard work and dedication to providing a superior vacation experience is appreciated. We all look forward to seeing to all of your future vacation needs. Have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newland, NC

Always Good

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: It would be nice if the main entrance doors were automatic, would make getting luggage in a lot easier. But that is not a deal breaker.
Location: Easy to get around the town from here.
We have been staying at the Resort for the past 4 years when we go to Pigeon Forge, which is about 4 times a year. The staff has ALWAYS been nice to us and very accommodating. Very easy to maneuver (or avoid) the hectic traffic from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate hearing from our guests and are always eager to hear what areas we can improve upon. We all thank you for your continued patronage and vote of confidence. Have a wonderful day and safe travels wherever your roads may lead!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run a way if do not want to freeze during the nigh

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The location is ok
Cons: Yes, stop texting when you communicate with guests !!!
Location: It is in ok location for the price
1. Thermostat was locked at 70F( with box and keys), outside was 9F during the night. AC did work all day but the temp never got over 70F ( it was lock out) . 2. At 11pm at night ( after 3h waiting ) maintenance discover that thermostat was bad and that they do not have replacement..No one did follow with phone call to find out if we were frozen or not 3. We were told that we will be "OK" .. outside temp was 9F 4. Room was not clean during the day , so at 8:30PM I call to ask for new towels . Got them at 12PM, from the night shift person after we call again. Day shift staff just did not care .. 5. Our bed was not made . The mattes cover was "Queen" , the bed was "KING" , so it was half way out .. 6.It took them 2 hours to bring new sheets ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your stay at The Resort at Governor's Crossing. We are so very sorry that your troubles were not handled in a more timely and professional manner. We had been experiencing some issues concerning communication between members of our staff and we are working hard to shoe up those shortcomings so that none of our future guests need to endure the problems you experienced. We hope that you will consider affording us with another opportunity to show you just how important all of our guests' satisfaction is to us. Again, we offer our most sincere apologies and hope to serve you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville SC

Great indoor water park for kids

Posted Feb 17, 2016
We enjoyed our stay there. Rooms were clean. Have lifeguard at pool areas
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for sharing your thoughts with us. We value our guests and the comments they choose to share with us as it provides us with invaluable insight to our property and staff. We are glad that you found your unit to be clean and that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again and wish you the very best in the meantime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Arrived in time for 4 o'clock check in but had to wait an hour to get in. They did offer a discount for the night which was very nice to do. I do understand things get behind sometime so I'm not holding this against them. I would recommend this resort to my friends and I will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2016 by Manager on Duty, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the time that is taken by our guests to help us to improve upon our service, staff, and property! We apologize for the delay in getting into your room and thank you for your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!