Ratings based on 2,075 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Westgate Smokey Mountains Not Pleasent

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: I liked the check in process they had a nice swim area we never used it though.
Cons: Ensure rooms are fully functional, Improve showers, Install elevators for top floor due to luggage, Take customer issues more serious, Larger rooms.
Location: There were plenty of things to do because we were in the Smokies and you have Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
The check in was a nice experience once we got the room it went down hill from there. Climbing 3 flights or stairs, room so tiny 3 people could barely move. Toilet ran all night long and kept us up. Shower was so horrible you spent more time trying to figure out how to make the water hit your body. Water pressure was horrible and a cheap shower head did not help. Westgate has been calling me for years about their timeshare I would never buy a time share there and I will never stay at another Westgate plan horrible experience. I called the so called Steward of my room and ask for a different room because we were up all night due to the toilet running. I was told they would send someone to fix the toilet or move my room if it could not be fixed. Imagine my surprise when we got back to the room the toilet was not fixed and I was not given a new room. There was banging very early each morning and the walls are thin we could here people next to us just talking. BEWARE: Don't stay at Westgate and Don't buy a timeshare. You have been warned.. The price to stay there is way to high for the small rooms you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Beautiful

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Service is amazing , all of the stuff was really kind with us , Superclean ,we come back again soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed for the price.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Alot. Just read our experience.
Location: Plenty of shops and stores nearby but you have to walk or drive to them. Parking is at a premium.
We arrived about 4:30 pm to check.....and stood in line with about 75 or more other people trying to check in. For a holiday weekend this was said. They didn't have enough people on hand to handle the check in and even had check-in stations that weren't being used that could have made it go faster. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This being the only plus to the stay. We were taken to our room were we were shown what things were what by a staff member. The tile floor was still wet (the wife dried the floor with a towel from the bath room) and the dish washer was still warm from someone running it before we arrived. Although there was a coffee pot in the room, there was no coffee, filter, etc for it. Our one and only window was facing the 6 air conditioner units of the building next to us. Our bedroom was along a wall where on the other side was the outside stairs. Every time someone went up and down the stairs you heard it. The bedroom and bathroom should have been switched. We had two TV's.......both with fuzzy pictures and one that always had a green cast in the picture. Upon leaving we were given "complimentary" tickets for a cup of coffee from their gift shop. We've stayed in other places for less (a lot less) and received more (coffee in the room, working TV, a view and a continental breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Westgate customercare, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Although we are sadden to know that your stay didn't meet expectations. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. Customer satisfaction is our main concern. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts housekeeping manager know. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Ray
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Thanksgiving get away!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The Resort is very nice kept up well...Staff was very friendly. Lots to do at the Resort. The only down fall would be the noise. I was looking for a quiet getway just the 2 of us. The person next door their dog woke us up early ever morning..you can here everything throught the walls and outside.. other than that beautiful place and cozy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us and that you found your accommodations to be comfortable, and that you found our staff to be pleasant. We certainly hope to see you again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving Week stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here the week of Thanksgiving arriving the Saturday before and leaving Thanksgiving day. The Good: The room was clean, well kept, kitchen was supplied with basic cooking appliances, overall property was nice and clean, staff was friendly. Location is directly across the road from the Gatlinburg Welcome center which is also a trolley stop for the Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge Trolleys.There is also a Gatlinburg Trolley Stop on the property. They have a shuttle that goes around the property that will pick you up at your room/building and take you to the Lodge. The bad: Check in was slow but they were a little busy when we arrived. Wife picked this property specifically for the indoor pool/water park only to find out they charge $20 a day even if your a guest. Walls seem to be thin, no sound deadening, conversations and kids screaming was easily heard. They advertise free WIFI but our room didn't have it. TV didn't have a very good picture, looked like we was watching TV with rabbit ears in the 80s even though it was Direct TV. Only room heat is a gas fire place on a timer(max 1 hour), Temp got down in the low 20s a couple nights and the room got chilly in the early morning hours, which wasn't a huge problem but I can see the rooms getting very cold in the middle of winter. We ate at the restaurant one night, Wasn't great but not horrible. Had supper delivered on night which nice, again not spectacular but not horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you decided to spend Thanksgiving with us. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodations and that you were also fond of our ideal resort location near Pigeon Forge. By sharing your likes and dislikes about your recent stay we are able to know when and where improvements can and need to be made in order to provide the best vacation experience possible for our guests. We hope that you will come back to vacation with us again soon. Luna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

not good

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: nothing
Location: we had fun when we left and took the kid to pf had fun
no said anything about that we had to pay to take the kid swimming you had fees for everything had to park at the bottom to check in just did not like the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We regret to hear that your most recent stay with us was not enjoyable. We will use your comments to help our team with continuous improvement towards the goal of providing an excellent experience for our guests. We hope that you allow us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Luna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent lodging for the area!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The location, location, location
Cons: The staff person that checked me in was not that personable. Very nice, but not personable.
Location: It is half way between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
Overall, everything was nice, except I called days earlier for a higher cabin. I was told it was possible, only to be told upon arrival, that the higher cabins were booked weeks in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our ideal resort location. It is a regret to hear that you may have found our staff to be less than pleasant upon your arrival. All of our staff is there to provide you with an exceptional customer service experience unlike any other. We appreciate you letting us know; it is our hope to see you back again soon. Luna
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your five star review. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. Luna
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel between the towns

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Location is great because it puts you between both gatlinburg and pigeon forge and directly across from the welcome center. Plus the gatlinburg trolley stops at the hotel. The resort offers their own shuttle from your room/cabin to the other parts of the resort but beware that if you have a room close to the road you will hear this shuttle constantly with the occasional backfire. The accommodations were nice and the room was clean. However the walls do not do much for sound barriers as I was able to hear the neighbors alarm clock very well as well as their conversations. Another down side was the parking available around the lodge and surrounding amenities was very sparse so we were unable to take advantage of a lot of those things. The resort was fully booked the time frame we stayed so that may have attributed to some of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by westgate customer care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is such a delight to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodations and that you were able to experience some of our lovely resort amenities. By sharing your likes and dislikes we are able to know when and where improvements can and need to be made in order to provide the best vacation experience possible for our guests. We hope that you will come back to vacation with us again soon. Luna
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay, helpful staff

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay.... It's like a home away from home
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us. We certainly hope to see you back again soon. Luna