Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice Hotel, well placed for race goers

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Stayed here to attend a wedding locally. Hotel was as expected, clean, well laid out with great views of the race course from the restaurant and bars. Staff were very attentive, especially the staff at breakfast who did an excellent job. Overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley

What one expects from a 4-star hotel; that's all.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The views from my 3rd floor room. Fast and free wifi. Easy and free parking. Restaurant staff very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Pool lacks character. Be more strict with nuisance guests. Better spa treatments. Better lunch menu and food.
Great place for a short stay or spend a night after watching the races.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Disappointing

Posted Aug 27, 2017
I was told that breakfast wasn't included for my booking twice at the reception and by the attendant before breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, Canada

Awesome experience

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We had an awesome stay. Very comfortable. Breakfast was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Racetrack

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Over looking race course
Enjoyed stay because next to racetrack nice hotel would come again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Enjoyed being able to sit outside in the sun and lovely surroundings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent in every respect

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very comfortable stay Rooms spacious and well decorated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Decent hotel overlooking racecourse.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The spacious bedrooms and its situation. Also, the buffet breakfasts.
Cons: The standard of some of the hot evening meals. These should be checked out prior to them being sent from the kitchen.
Location: The hotel is in a nice quiet situation in the countryside. There are a good number of places of interest to visit nearby.
Our party had booked 2 rooms, both overlooking the racecourse. The rooms were spacious and very clean, with good size comfortable beds. Our deal included the buffet breakfast which we looked forward to each morning. There was plenty of choice. We opted for the evening meal on one of the nights. Unfortunately, two of the main meals had not been cooked for long enough and had to be sent back. This was disappointing for a hotel of this status. This eventually ended in us getting a reduction in our bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lingfield UK

Fabulous

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Our family stayed in two of your rooms for 5 nights. We enjoyed ourselves most thoroughly. Everyone friendly and helpful. Thank you Lillian Johnson
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient but disappointing

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Housekeeping, especially bedmaking. Higher chairs in bar. Pay attention to bed requests in bookings
Booked a room with twin beds through Expedia and was given a room with one bed! Fortunately it was changed straightaway. The beds were very badly made and looked more like student beds! They were comfortable, luckily. No evidence of any bottled water either, which is unusual. Very low chairs and tables in the bar, which are very challenging for older people. We ate in the restaurant and the staff were excellent and the food good. The car park is a little way from the hotel, which wouldn't be too much of a problem except in very wet weather.