Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Incredible views & location but ready for updating

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Mattress was too soft. Staff was very friendly. Location and views were absolutely incredible. We did not like that the halls were dark (i.e. Lights off) until you hit the switch. I understand the energy savings but maybe better sensors when the elevator started or when you opened the door to the stairs. It just made it feel unwelcoming bordering on creepy. Maybe LED lights could help with the energy savings but still allow some lights to be on a little bit longer. Or maybe some skylight tubes into the halls to at least to bring in light during the days. Furnishings and decor were getting a bit dated...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive, in bad condition with unfriendly staff

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Very dated. Staff unhelpful. Outrageously expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos

nice hotel, classic mountain architecrure

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: 1 - 9 the views and proximity to the Cirque, 10 - very pleasant staff
Cons: breakfast perhaps, especially since there are few alternatives. Very small village.
Location: This is all about hiking, at least in summer. Ski resort very close in winter
Very delightful staff (one person does it all, owner?). Large room. This hotel , however, is all about the views, simply incredible. Simple breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
by Svetlana from laguna niguel, ca

beautiful mountain stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
it was a wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Perfect mountain view

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: The view cannot be beat
Cons: It is a bit hard to get to, since you have to drive through a pedestrians area and turn across a river. Had Internet problems, but were addressing.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, many hiking options from the town.
We stayed at the hotel in July 2015. The view from our room was spectacular. We found the hotel to be very nice and had several conversations with Lydia at the front desk. Her English was great and she had a lot of advice about the town and hiking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A treasure in Gavarnie

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I have been travelling through France for 3 weeks and agree that Hotel Vignemale is the best hotel we've been in anywhere. The location is fabulous, and we had a beautiful room with a view of the Cirque du Garvarnie. Vignemale is a family run establishment, and Lydia was so friendly and welcoming, and a wealth of information. If one is interested in hiking in Gavarnie and having a bit of luxury on the side, this is the place. We would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Oct 9, 2013
This hotel is situated so that you look right out onto the cirque. It's family-run and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms themselves aren't fancy at all, but are clean and perfectly adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from AZ

Wonderful site with world-class view!

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: Everything, no complaints.
Comfortable and welcoming, this hotel run by a young family was very pleasant to stay in. The owners speak fluent English and painstakingly answer all questions for their clients, including trail information. Breakfast was ample; no other meals were served. Food at nearby Les Cascades was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Todo tiempo pasado fue anterior.

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Un hotel antiguo que hace patente el paso del tiempo. Mobiliario envejecido y no rehabilitado. Excelente situación y buen trato personal, con muchas deficiencias en cuanto a los servicios.
2 out of 5
by JUAN from Barcelona

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Este hotel solo vale la pena por la vista al circo de Gavarnie