Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely boutique hotel with great views

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Brilliantly run, very friendly, delicious breakfasts. Great views - but that does mean you do mostly need taxis to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Comfortable boutique hotel in the trees

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel offers a nice hotel in the trees, tucked away from the bustling beaches of Rio.
Location: The location is quite central. Nearby Leblon is fantastic for restaurants and nightlife. Close to main beaches whilst set in a quiet neighborhood.
Our family stayed here for two weeks. We were pleased with the friendly staff and comfortable room. The setting is beautiful - tucked away in the trees and separate from the beaches, whilst still close. Monkeys came to eat bananas from our hands in the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

Lovely local and friendly hotel.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly staffs and comfortable room.
Location: View is good, visit the beach and Sugar Mountain!
It is a lovely and friendly hotel, the staffs are really nice and the view is beautiful!! Staffs were so helpful and our stay went smoothly, we also stayed with our children and they enjoyed their stay. It is a bit far away from the beach but the room comfort and view is lovely. Good value for money as well I must say. Breakfast is typical Brazilian and it was very nice, fresh fruits are lovely!!
5 out of 5
by melissa from San Diego

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great area of Rio very different from the tourist beach scene.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Fargo, ND

Gavea Boutique Heaven on Earth B&B

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 Star B&B!! We loved this place! Amazing omelettes for breakfast=Check, Feeding the baby monkeys=Check, Sweet view of the Christ Statue=Check, Hot Tub=Check!! This helped make our 1st trip to Rio that much more memorable! Now, trying to find the place can be quite an adventure! But its only 10 min. from Ipanema, AND away from the crowds. Book it before it sells out!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, few cons

Posted Nov 2, 2015
This hotel was the highlight of our trip to South America. The suites were amazing. Dont get the villa though. Pros: Gorgeous views and we got to feed little monkeys every morning! My better half absolutely loved this. The rooms were well decorated and clean. Get a suite and pay the extra $10-20 per night. Its well worth it. Customer service was top notch. Being a boutique hotel we regularly interacted with the owner and manager, both of whom were very helpful and spoke English! Con: We originally booked the villa. The Villa is actually a smaller room rigjt above the street. No scenic view unless you like a dirt hill. The sewage from the street had a tendency to linger in the Villa if you left the doors closed. We moved to the suite (next size up) the first day. Perfect for couples even though it can fit more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

Room smells like a sewer

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The staff is very friendly, collaborative and accommodating
Cons: Need to re-do the pipes for the Villa, it makes the whole experience not good at all and speaks very badly on how the hotel is taken care of.
Location: It is in an interesting area where you can see the huge gap between have's (Gavea) and don't have's (Rocinha).
Stayed in room #7 which is advertised as a Villa. The room could be good if it didn't smell terribly, didn't have a mosquito pest and didn't need to escalate very steep steps to the lobby area, maybe 70 steps. The staff is very nice but impossible to compensate for not being able to sleep at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

a hotel in the city with a real tropical feel

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: once inside the hotel the outside world feels a million miles away it has a real tropical feel , where you can see lemurs and toucans in the trees
Cons: the hotel was a little hard to find and there was no sign outside as it looks like a regular house
Location: just a few kilometres from all the popular tourist beaches copacabana ipenapa etc and in easy reach of sugar loaf and christ the redeemer statue
my husband and i had a relaxing pleasant stay the staff are first class and really helpful nothing was too much trouble .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with the hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: It had a beautiful view. That was about it.
Cons: The rooms need to have privacy for the bathroom. There is not privacy at all.
Location: It shows that is is 0.3 miles from Leblon, but it is much further and there is a Favela slums directly above the hotel.
The hotel details showed a room for 5. It only had one double bed and a sofa bed that is very uncomfortable. The baths did not have any doors, so there was no privacy for anyone who wanted to take a bath or use the toilet. It shows that is is 0.3 miles from Leblon, but it is much further and there is a Favela slums directly above the hotel. We had to move out, and the owner promised us a reimbursement for the difference. But when I requested one from Expedia, the owner did not give the difference that was owed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Serene and outstanding view

Posted Sep 13, 2015
I believe this hotel is the best kept secrete in Rio...no party scene around. It is tucked away in a mountain in Gavea neighborhood. This hotel caters to visitors who appreciate superb personal customer service as well as beautiful city views... You MUST upgrade your room to obtain the view! The hotel rooms are spotless; I was very pleased about it since I am somewhat of a "germ freak." The complementary breakfast is quite complete. Sipping my coffee in the breakfast area and watching the small monkeys being fed by the staff was my favorite part of the morning. The setup of the hotel is in 6 or 7 levels, one to three rooms per level. There is a lot of walking involved so if you have difficulty walking, this will not be the hotel for you. I personally loved the exercise of going up and down the stairs; however, as much as I loved the hotel, I would not be able to bring my elderly father here. We stayed here a week and loved every minute of it; however, the hotel it is not perfect... a little too much chlorine in the Jacuzzi, lol, and the wireless internet drops from time to time... made us remember that there is no perfect world, lol. Rauber and Flavia, the managers, are multilingual and always are available and willing to help with suggestions of where to go or how to get there. I fell in love with every single staff member of this hotel; they are wonderful and are very gracious people. I will definitely come back to visit them again!