Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Everything you need

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel is right off the highway, yet in a private woodsy area to walk in and stretch. The hotel isn't elegant but gives you everything you need. Dinner was better than some and priced well. Good place for kids, fold down bunks in the room. Quiet at night, even with open windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Basic but good hotel on the outskirts of Gavle

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, 24 hour store, clean, comfortable
Location: At the time of the review, the bus stop was the "Scandic" stop on the 1 bus. Buses were easy to use and offer service late to most destinations.
Hotel is a basic, clean, and comfortable hotel located on the outskirts of Gavle. If you are staying at the hotel without a vehicle there is an easy to use bus stop with transfers to/from the city center and train station. No issues with getting a taxi from the hotel but it is a decent ways from the city center. For a basic comfort hotel, there were a decent selection of TV channels. Internet was reliable and free of charge. The rooms are not spacious by US standards but were well set up. The single size bed in the room was surprisingly comfortable. Hotel restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner. Snacks, sandwiches, drinks, fruit, and basic toiletries are available in a small 24 hour store next to reception. A bit of noise could come in from adjoining rooms but overall was a quiet hotel which was again a surprise with many families and younger guests. I stayed during a busy weekend and was satisfied with the service and staff. Staff was great with suggestions, maps, etc. all useful for an out of town traveler. I came in with rather low expectations but left with a very positive opinion of the hotel. Thanks to the staff for their assistance with my day to day planning. Again, not a luxury hotel but for a hotel in its category is well run and maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

Nice hotel, convenient to motorway

Posted Dec 26, 2010 on Hotels
Hotel was nice, with small rooms based on an American perspective, but standard for what I've found elsewhere in Europe. Rooms were nice and clean, we also enjoyed the sauna while there. Good breakfast too! Staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen, Denmark

Hotel Scandic, Sweden

Posted Aug 15, 2010 on Hotels
That's very wonderful. My husband and I had been in Sweden on 29th July - 2nd August. We lived at Scandic Gåvle Våst Hotel, Gohanneslotsvagen, Gåvle. We dropped our wallet on the taxi that the hotel helped us to rent that morning. Surely the busiest day and unhappy in our meeting room. As Saturday, the central police station was officially no working but helped everything to us to report and contact to Denmark. The visa card account must be closed. The ID card, Health insurance card, CODAN insurance card, driving license, all cards must be applied for the new. Euro Car parking in Demark was controlled by our insurance card as a key-card. So our car couldn't be with us without keycard. All those problems were with us. But fortunately, when we got back to hotel room, a wonderful message on the TV screen said that the our wallet was in reception by return of taxi man. Thanks very very much Scandic GÅble Våst Hotel and your taxi service. Unforgetable experience and extremely important in my life. I think this really the living standard and morality in Europe. I really appreciate and respect that. I will record it on my facebook.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Out of the way

Posted Aug 5, 2010
This hotel was very easy to find- being right off the main road- but much farther away from the city of Gavle than we expected. There is basically nothing around this hotel so you would have to drive to get anywhere to do any shopping. That aside- the hotel was nice enough. Check in/out was easy. Our room was adequate. There happened to be a ton of kids at the hotel the night we stayed there, so they were running up and down the halls making a lot of noise which was very annoying. Thankfully it didn't continue into the late evening when we wanted to try and sleep. I think there was a swimming pool somewhere but we never did look for it thinking it would be full of kids anyway. The breakfast was good- a wide array of foods to choose from. We also ate in the dining room for our evening meal. Ended up having the buffet which was very good with a lot of food choices and fairly good prices. There was ample parking in the parking lot as well. If this is just a stopover on your way to another destination, this hotel would serve the purpose. If you prefer to park the car and walk to the shops to do some shopping then this hotel is not the best choice Given those situations, we would stay here again if the opportunity arose.
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joakim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Karl-Östen

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Snabba övernattningar på väg från Skellefteå till och från Karlstad