Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Island resort

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Everything was excellent however the food did not have much variety and was quite basic considering that it was a 5 star hotel so that could be improved.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Gaya Island_First Malaysian Island Adventure

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a very beautiful and enjoyable place and we were well looked after by a friendly and efficient staff. However, apart from finding a rat in our room, the absolute spoiler was sand flies, which were a new and unpleasant experience for us and we felt we should have been more informed about the pesky bugs upon our arrival. Three weeks later and still have visible bites. And for the length of our stay we found the food menu choices at both the beach and main restaurants limited, plus the beach restaurant & bar with its black tables and chairs lacked ambience and character, especially at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL Malaysia

Great beach resort in a small private bay.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We wanted to spend a few days just the 2 of us without the children. Bunga Raya was the safe haven we were dreaming of. Great place in a quite bay with numerous activities offered. Still 30 min away from Kota Kinabalu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and good hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The location is amazing. It is quiet from people noise but full of wildlife noise. The beach and pool are wonderful. The staff can move on "island time" when ordering but everyone is very friendly and accommodating. Our villa was up the hillside a bit but a staff person was always ready to drive us up in a golf cart if necessary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely resort away from the hustle and bustle.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Although nearly booked out never felt that we were crowded in any area. Staff are sensational. Manager Thomas and ALL duty managers - never felt they were rushed to answer our questions about the Island or history of the area. Will return definitely in the future.
5 out of 5
by Ximena

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Service was a little bit slow considering that the resort didn't look very busy but otherwise, the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The resort itself felt very secluded and it felt like we had the beach to ourselves many times. I stayed at villa 1 which was the villa closest to everything so getting around was easy and we never needed a buggie to drive us around. We got a visit from a few curious monkeys in the morning and slept with all the doors open and the screen doors closed to hear the ocean waves at night. The beach can get a lot of trash after the rain, unfortunately, but its usually clean in the mornings. Mosquito repellent is a must! Even with the rain, our stay was incredible. I can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Came here with my Husband & Parents (no kids) & we had a great time! Beautiful surroundings & excellent food! The extremely nice staff made us feel very welcome. The only downsides were the trash from the ocean & the sand flies - both of which are no fault of the resort! They give out natural bug repellent & clean the beach every morning. We had a lovely time here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The brakfast was very bad. No choice at all. With very high price I pay, definitely not worth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty beach
5 out of 5
by Jay from Melbourne

6 nights for the two of us at Bunga Raya

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 6 nights with the sole intent of relaxing, which we duly achieved. The resort is in a picturesque and secluded cove with a brilliant beach and clean and clear water. There is a decent pool, great service two restaurants with a varied selection of decent food and a good spa for a range of treatments. The resort was also very quiet. We weren't interested in any activities beyond sitting on the beach of by the pool but there were numerous options.