Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Posted Nov 6, 2019
Beautiful resort!! And from our room excellent view to the bay and all the pied hornbills, loved it!!!! A pity that the European and Japanese food were not good, instead of the local food, which was wonderful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2019
Loved the location and experience, although as a single traveller thought there might be s bit more to do especially at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2019 by T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much and will look into further improvements. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Rooms Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2019
Beautiful resort. Exceptional staff. We were treated like individuals rather than just guests. A wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Mr T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2019 on Hotels
There were minor problems with the room. But these were promptly sorted.The coral and fish in the sea, right at the side of the hotel was amazing for snorkelling, though you need to watch out for sea urchins. The staff were wonderful. The seafood was great. A special thanks to Executive Sous-Chef Dolis for his hospitality and making us feel so welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Mr T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much and will look into further improvements. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2019
Comfort and luxury with kind and accommodating staff and a beautiful location (including fantastic reef snorkeling right at the resort).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Mr T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2019 on Hotels
When we got the boat over to the resort the staff left our passports behind we were left without these for over 24 hours which is obviously quite distressing being such an important document. I settled my bill when I left the resort however since returning home I have been charged over £100 with no explanation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2019 on Hotels
Gaya Island resort is 10 mins ferry ride away from kota kinabalu main island, a beautiful resort built on a secluded tropical island and the first view of the resort takes your breath away. Facilities - beautiful resort with adequate facilities. Gym is well equipped, pool clean and well kept, an amazing beach just on the doorsteps and a spa (which i didn't visit) Room - we have the canopy view room (i think the cheapest in class) but very nice and well thought out. The ac in one of the two rooms was a little weak but ok. Service - they have an amazing crew. very well informed and trained. service was genuine and attentive. My bag tore at the bottom and they sew it up for me! crowd - more of a family and honeymoon place (luckily without a lot of kids) we were a group of 4 girls and didnt see other groups. Not a rowdy place, very nice that way Overall this resort is very nice, but a few things to notice: Ferry - it's very expensive (160RM return) if you ever want to go to town, when an average meal in the city is around 20RM...stock up before you go to the resort if you're staying a few days and would need some snacks/ options Restaurant/ food - so when the ferry is so expensive, and you're at a resort, you'd want to spend more time being at the resort, however, i really think the food is average at best. We had tried out most of the menu and just found it to be overpriced (expected at a hotel), but without the quality to match, so that was one of a big minus for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2019
It would be nice for all rooms to be equipped with irons and ironing boards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2019 by Mary Bong, Hotel Management
Warm Greetings from Gaya Island Resort! Thank you for highlighting this matter. Indeed in resort, we do provide iron and ironing board with upon request. If there is anything we could further assist you with, please do not hesitate to let us know.