Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2019
Loved the location and experience, although as a single traveller thought there might be s bit more to do especially at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2019 by T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much and will look into further improvements. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Rooms Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2019
Beautiful resort. Exceptional staff. We were treated like individuals rather than just guests. A wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Mr T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2019
Comfort and luxury with kind and accommodating staff and a beautiful location (including fantastic reef snorkeling right at the resort).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Mr T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your feedback very much. We look forward in welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Terrence Boyd Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2019 on Hotels
Gaya Island resort is 10 mins ferry ride away from kota kinabalu main island, a beautiful resort built on a secluded tropical island and the first view of the resort takes your breath away. Facilities - beautiful resort with adequate facilities. Gym is well equipped, pool clean and well kept, an amazing beach just on the doorsteps and a spa (which i didn't visit) Room - we have the canopy view room (i think the cheapest in class) but very nice and well thought out. The ac in one of the two rooms was a little weak but ok. Service - they have an amazing crew. very well informed and trained. service was genuine and attentive. My bag tore at the bottom and they sew it up for me! crowd - more of a family and honeymoon place (luckily without a lot of kids) we were a group of 4 girls and didnt see other groups. Not a rowdy place, very nice that way Overall this resort is very nice, but a few things to notice: Ferry - it's very expensive (160RM return) if you ever want to go to town, when an average meal in the city is around 20RM...stock up before you go to the resort if you're staying a few days and would need some snacks/ options Restaurant/ food - so when the ferry is so expensive, and you're at a resort, you'd want to spend more time being at the resort, however, i really think the food is average at best. We had tried out most of the menu and just found it to be overpriced (expected at a hotel), but without the quality to match, so that was one of a big minus for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2019
It would be nice for all rooms to be equipped with irons and ironing boards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2019 by Mary Bong, Hotel Management
Warm Greetings from Gaya Island Resort! Thank you for highlighting this matter. Indeed in resort, we do provide iron and ironing board with upon request. If there is anything we could further assist you with, please do not hesitate to let us know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tropical paradise

Posted May 16, 2019 on Hotels
Fabulous location, beautiful facilities and staff who go the extra mile every time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2019
Booked Kinabalu Villa, view was fantastic. However, there isn't any buggy available in the resort. Walking is the only mode of transport. You will need to walk up the steep slope.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2019
What a beautiful and exclusive resort! The staff, rooms, amenities...all 10 out of 10!