Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigam

Maid wouldn't clean room

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Was a little late getting up asked maid to do our room she was right there we left for day She wouldn't do it. Had to go frt desk for clean towels roof leaked looked like it was on going problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Presque Isle, MI

Nice place

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, up to date, convenient location.
Cons: TV remote in our room wouldn't turn TV on or off but would change channels
Location: Location was perfect, close to shopping, restaurants, not far from theaters.
Good place to stay in Gaylord, if tv remote had worked properly would have given a 5 rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Room was not ready until approximately 6:00 p.m. despite reservations. Front desk staff was rude and inattentive. Room had coffee splashed on the wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittemore Mi

Nice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Bed was very comfortable and the food was delicious.for breakfast. The motel was close to Expressway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very dated, rude front desk

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
Location: Little shopping center was fun, movie theater was large and inexpensive, restaurants are good.
This was not what we expected at ALL! I have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels all over the US and this was by far the worst! From the check-in experience as well as the stay. I wish I would have known the name of the young lady that did end up helping us. She is extremely beautiful, with long black hair. Super nice, and did not hesitate to change our room when we complained about it. The room was disgusting. Those blankets/comforters were not changed. Food as well as hair was still in the bed. (I always pull down the sheets and bedding to check for bugs. Then the microwave had food it in still, as well as the coffee maker being gross! The bathroom had pubic hair everywhere and the shower was filthy. Grime and hair all over. My daughter and I went for a drive to view some cabins we were thinking about purchasing, had dinner, get back to the hotel and we were kept up all night due to loud, obnoxious people (like 10 in a room next to us) and the staff did nothing about it. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely disgusting and it was probably 100 degrees in that room. The 2 ladies tending the area were dripping sweat. (not that, that was their fault) At least they were pleasant. Again, the ONLY thing good about this place was the front desk young lady who was nice and helpful. I would NEVER suggest this place.
5 out of 5
by Wynn

Until next time

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Find

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfast.
Cons: Softer beds.
Location: We didn't look for anything to do nearby as we were on a mission to get to Munising. But what a great stay.
We needed a place to stay on our U.P. trip from Ann Arbor. This was a perfect distance and what a great find. Friendly staff and what a great hot full breakfast. We will go again, for sure.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay in every way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We were in town for the weekend for a golf tournament. Lots of the players stayed at the fancy hotel right on site of the tournament. We didn't. In talking with the other parents, they were disappointed with the poor condition of the other hotel. We were very pleased with our room and the pool was excellent for the kids. All of the workers were friendly and very accommodating! We would stay again!
5 out of 5
by Rosalyn

Clean Room and Nice Staff

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Only one night while traveling. The room was very clean and pleasant the surrounding area was not, but the hotel can't help that.