Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Karen

Neat idea but not all it's cracked up to be.....

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
We had a difficulty finding the hotel because the reservation said Gazzola and it is actually in Rivalta. Lovely room and furnishing, large bathroom and plenty of room to move around. couldn't use the little balcony or leave the window open as there were many mosquitoes. There are two restaurants and one café. The Café is open a lot but two restaurants were hard to access... filled or not open, or holding a private party. The trouble is there are no "ristorantes" anywhere close by. The internet touts it is a small village, but the village stores and castle were closed for all the 4 days we were there. I would suggest they give a little tour of the grounds so that guests can get a feel for the town.. We had hoped to tour the castle. NOPE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Excellent, quiet, historic

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Incredibly attractive environment. Full-sized tub/shower! Staff very helpful trying to accommodate our 6am departure.
Cons: Move floodlight so it doesn't shine directly into window. Figure out some way to give us takeaway breakfast early in the morning.
Location: Castle tour very interesting. Great food and service at Antica Locanda del Falco.
Lovely, quiet, historic setting. Interesting castle tour (even if you can't understand Italian, but they have it in English if you reserve ahead). Great service. Great food (Antica Locanda del Falco). Very minor complaints: Flood light shining into our room (but curtains blocked OK). No food at 6am when we had to leave.
4 out of 5
by paula

Peaceful and Relaxing

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Ideal location if you want to relax after a day trip to any of the local Italian cities. We drove & spent the day in Milan on one of the days & drove to Lake Como another day. It was beautiful to come back to a peaceful setting after a tiring time in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A perfect experience into the past.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Signage on the way was confusing--not the hotel's fault.
Location: Tour the castle!
We got very lost and arrived late. The staff were very accommodating and we had a 5-star dinner on the property that made all is well. The room was lovely, the grounds were gorgeous, and we recommend this place highly, if you can find it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel residenza torre di San martino review

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great reception, very helpful with everything from service at the hotel itself to helping book taxis. Would recommend to anyone
2 out of 5
by Hanoch from Israel

A poor experience in a nice looking hotel

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Instead of the reserved "Standard Double Room" I got a tiny attic room where I could not stand! The room is only good for kids under 10 and dogs. The room did not even have a room number. Selling it as a standard room is simply a fraud. On top of it we had to carry the luggage on long, dark, slippery stairs, in the rain, because the hotel could not open the gate for us! The price was good but I would have never reserved it had I known the type of the room. The hotel offered us a free night that we refused to take.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review that gives us the oppurtunity to clarify that the Standard Double Room You booked is an attic room of 20-25 square metres, with moquette, wallpaper, with french bed (a smaller bed) and bathroom with shower. So it is the corrispondence of what You booked. Instead We are sorry for the gate, it was a misunderstanding or there was some technical problems because We always can ope the gate with a remote control. We hope one day to have the opportunity to show You all beautiful aspects of our Hotel and location maybe in another room tipology, bigger than the other room. Residenza Torre di San Martino
5 out of 5
by Michel from Reading uk

A little haven

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find , a little gem in the countryside but near Piacenza , the welcome and service was impeccable, very friendly and helpful . The food and wines were of great quality and wide choice . I highly recommend this haven and will visit it again I hope . We took the train to Milano from Piacenza , worth the trip , only 50 minutes . The tour of the Castle was very interesting and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are very glad that your journey was appreciated. We hope to see You again in our Hotel. Residenza Torre di San Martino
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A good country hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2012
A good country hotel. The restaurant was closed. The car park was free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast, USA

Could be great

Posted Jun 5, 2011
We stayed at this hotel for a few days. It's beautifully situated in the countryside and next to a wonderful castle with a great tour - only in Italian though; we were welcomed gracefully by the attentive front desk staff and our every need attended to: BUT, while the bathroom was scrubbed and wonderfully clean, there were cobwebs, spiderwebs, large dust balls all over the bedroom. I love the old "castle feel", but the spiders and cobwebs have to go. The breakfast was minimal but very tasty. Nonetheless, it's a very very cool and romantic place to visit and you have that moment to feel "royal" within the castle gates.
5 out of 5
by Marc

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
A great place to spend some times with family.