Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, CT

Centrally located. Great breakfast.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Would stay here again as hotel is centrally located to the old town square. Loved restaurant attached to hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ansonia, CT

Great location, bad comfort

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Very good location that was nice but we paid for family room witch had one double bed and set up sofa bed very uncomfortable, even double bed mattress was in terrible condition, in our room we had only one chair , in the bathroom soap dispenser empty , breakfast super expensive but also really good No air conditioner and when you open window you let lots of bags in so no win Wouldn't stay there again sorry
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pretty nice hotel. Could have been cleaned a little better before our arrival. The location was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Would have been a 5/5 but, for the light sleeper in the crew the bell tower was a wake up call
4 out of 5
by Ulla

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Small room, uncomfortable bed. Nice with the/coffee maker in the room. Very beautiful building snd nice area.
3 out of 5
by Josefin

Not well cleaned and lack of service

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
A nice hotel wonderful located in the old town. Very strange they don't do more effort to please the customers, because then it would hit full score on everything. The rooms are being cleaned, but not very well. In our room we found trash in the bin from the previous guests and we had the same spot on the bathroom floor for at least two days. Overall it was clean, though. The worst part was the situation with our rooms. We booked two Family room delux. It said "1 king size, 2 single, 1 double bed sofa". Upon arrival we discovered the rooms had only 1 double bed and one quite small bed sofa. We were 7 adults... The staff could solve this with an extra bed (very uncomfortable) in one of the rooms, but we got no explanation nor compensation to what had happen. According to the staff at the hotel they could not take any decision on compensation for us (we suggested at least one free breakfast for all seven) without talking to their manager. Their manager could not be reached at all for four days... Quite strange to be totally unavailable for four days (managing a hotel) and not delegate these kind of tasks to anyone else. Neither did the staff greet people entering or leaving the hotel, the were to busy staring at their screens. Didn't feel very welcoming. The staff was kind, but not very service minded. Today I see that Hotels.com has changed the info about the rooms and a "or" is added between the king size bed and single beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel in great location.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Friendly staff, excellent location right in the middle of historic Old Town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Bad for long stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Although the location of the hotel was perfect, the room was too small, rather tiny - hardly any room to stretch. No AC, no fan and if the windows are opened, lot of noise and sometimes bugs come in. So extremely unbearable and sweaty at night. The bed sheets are not changed and neither the bathrooms are cleaned daily. My 11 day stay here was painful.
4 out of 5
by Ulf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds, uk

Nice hotel in the heart of the city

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Very unique hotel in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions with helpful staff