Ratings based on 1,985 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Room pretty clean on inspection however the doonas need to be washed and beds need replacing as they sag in the middle. Beautiful view and great location though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We will be in the process of changing all our beds over the next few weeks starting on Sunday. Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your kind words with the rest of the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Could be better

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Stayed at the hotel 2 months after it changed from Mercure to Rydges, hence expected a transit period. Hopefully things will improve eventually. Check in was smooth and quick, room was clean but with a few room for improvements: 1. Hair dyer clearly just had the previous hotel label removed then the dyer handle was all sticky. 2. Internet in the room not workable; 3. Hoping to ring reception to rectify the internet connection but room phone doesn't work; 4. Next to the phone was a letter stating phone might not work. Instruction was to use our mobile phone to ring the reception number... which I personally think it's odd but I follow the prompt; 5. Unfortunately no one answer from reception. After trying for 20mins (at 5pm on a Wednesday), I gave up and decided to head down to the pub for happy hour drinks instead; 6. No one was serving drinks at the bar at lobby so I again gave up and head to the restaurant instead; 7. Dinner (steak) was good, a little overprice tho if it's not for business trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Robyn O'Brien Night Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your kind words with the rest of the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Nice hotel great location, and affordable

Posted May 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: very friendly and helpful staff, plenty to offer,
Location: Closely located to Simonds Stadium, within walking distance, close enough to beach that you could still walk to the beach, and city centre.
It was a great place to stay, close to everything I wanted to do, we were able to walk to all the places we wanted to go from the Hotel. Staff were very friendly, and helpful. Affordable accommodation, and great location, easy access to both beach, and football stadium, nice and quiet, will stay here again for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Georgie Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your kind words with the rest of the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017
Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your kind words with the rest of the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Victoria

Nice hotel within CBD

Posted May 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close proximity to hospital. It was good that we had the option of dining in the restaurant, which was ok.
Cons: Some furnishings were a little "tied", lounge chairs comfortable but the fabric worn, desk chair faded & plastic. Room could have had more lighting
Location: Perfect location to retail, restaurants, foreshore and hospitals
Booked this hotel due to the vicinity of Geelong hospital's. It was ideal. Hotel also had car parking at a cost but we were happy to pay for this service. It turned out it was great walking distances to local restaurants, pubs and even to the foreshore.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Tammy Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all happy that you had a great stay! Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! I will pass on your kind words with the rest of the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and friendly staff.

Posted May 12, 2017 on Lastminute
The hotel looks a little outdated but the rooms inside are very modern and comfortable. They offer a full mini bar which is something that is hard to find. The only negative aspect with my stay was the housekeeper knocked on the door and opened it before the checkout time and yelled out "housekeeping" which woke me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! I am happy to hear your stay was good, but marred by Housekeeping entering your room before you were ready, I have passed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager for follow up. Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! Kind Regards, Robyn O’Brien Night Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sandy ck

Great place to stay

Posted May 11, 2017 on Wotif
Well located close to shops good parking good value will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Macca Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Kind Regards, Robyn O'Brien Night Manager
2 out of 5
by Terrence

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Room 616 incredibly noisy from air con which was switched off & still noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017
Dear Terrence, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Rydges Geelong is in the process of making some changes to the hotel so we hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see how far we've come! If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Robyn O'Brien Night Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Again, the friendliness of the staff
Location: We used the hotel as our base for day trips along the great ocean road.
Hayley checked us in and was super friendly, a wonderful warm welcome, she even upgraded us! The room was nice and comfortable. We dined in the bar on the second night and the restaurant lady who served us (sorry didn't get her name) was excellent, again very friendly. She recommended the pana cotta which didn't disappoint, very yummy. The staff totally made the experience memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Dear Chantelle Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! I will pass on your kind words to Hayley and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Robyn O'Brien Night Manager