Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend break

Posted Nov 28, 2017
This hotel is situated away from the city but once you get to know your way around its easy to get on a tram.The rooms are basic even though we had executive room.The staff on reception were helpful all by one who was very in helpful.and she was the only female we saw the gentleman were very helpful.Breakfast was basic but plenty of it .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Boglarka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for all the kind words you shared here on Expedia following your recent stay. It is a great pleasure to receive such an amazing feedback from you. We would all love to invite you to stay with us again in the near future. Best regards, Boglárka Győrfi on behalf of Danubius Hotel Flamenco
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Quiet park location with good tram connections

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet location overlooking park and right by a tram stop, so can be to Gellert area in 10 minutes and main Pest in 15-20. Older conference property but maintained well and spotless less clean. Had room overlooking Pest Hills, and a/c worked well and bed comfortable. Highlight for me was the indoor pool, which is part of well used Fitness area. It is staffed all the time and you get towels and locker in change room. The pool is small but attractive and has separate male/ female saunas with cold plunge pools. Nice open air restaurant/bar in the park across street with entertainment during warm months. Spar Mini Market and McDonald's 15 minute walk or 2 minute tram at Moricz Zsigmond Korter interchange. You can get daily, 3 or 7 day BKK transit pass for unlimited travel for very reasonable price. Then the city sights are just a quick hop from the hotel. Otherwise you will need to take taxi. Well run property and check in and out very efficient. Enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017
Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for your comment. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a pleasant stay at our Danubius Hotel Flamenco. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit Budapest. Best regards, Boglárka Győrfi on behalf of Danubius Hotel Flamenco
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible hotel, unhelpful staff

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Please don't waste your money on this hotel! The conditions are awful- it's run down and dirty. The sheets had the previous guest's hair on them and were stained and dirty. The walls are so thin that you will hear everything that goes on in the neighbouring rooms. When I arrived there was loud music playing in the adjacent room, making it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was in a state of disrepair and the bathtub had clearly not been cleaned. The staff was unhelpful and did not even hear me out fully when I complained. I checked out the very same day that I checked in due to the appalling conditions, however they still charged me for the next two nights as well. Completely ruined the experience of a much awaited holiday. I would advise every traveller to Budapest to avoid this hotel at all costs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Boglárka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is hard to find the words to express how downcast we feel to see your complete dissatisfaction with you recent stay. We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us at all. The fact that you were not satisfied with the services makes us very disappointed. We are shocked to learn that you found our bathroom dirty and the quality to be bad. Our guests usually do not complain about the cleanliness of our rooms. Our staff always strive to provide a superior service and make our guests’ stay comfortable. It is very disheartening to read that you think they were generally unhelpful. Receiving such complaints about the service is absolutely not usual. Please be informed that we are investigating your case and we will make sure to avoid a situation like this in the future. I am very sorry that the staff was unhelpful and did not provide a superior service as usual. Once again, we are truly sorry that we were not able to exceed your high expectations. Yours sincerely, Boglárka Győrfi on behalf of Danubius Hotel Flamenco
4 out of 5
by Zoltan

Good value in pleasant Budapest location

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice enough hotel out of the touristy areas but not far from them by public transportation in Budapest. The rooms are fine but dated, the most annoying thing is the shower in which you have to hold the shower head in your hands, it doesn't adjust (two different rooms had the same arrangement). I enjoyed seeing the ash-tray next to the toilet, a relic of old times, even in non-smoking rooms. The AC system could use some improvement. The hotel is relatively inexpensive but you do pay extra for using the pool, the gym, and the garage. The staff are fine, courteous and efficient, and speak perfectly serviceable English (and often German). Bottom line: you get what you pay for but if you don't want/need anything fancy, this hotel will do just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017
Dear Zoltan, Thank you for your review of Danubius Hotel Flamenco. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay. Hope to see you soon in our hotel again! Best regards, Boglárka Győrfi on behalf of Danubius Hotel Flamenco
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe and a nice park nearby

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: I had an early flight in the morning on the last day and they packed me a to go breakfast. Also the lobby smelled like cinnamon buns.
Cons: All of the features of the room seem old and could be improved. Also the hotel room had a very strong odor. I had to leave the window open.
Location: Nice park.
Room had strong odor and bathroom was old looking. The hot water did not work for two days. It was easy to get to the tram lines and walkable to the Budapest congress center. It was about a 20 minute walk. Nice park nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Boglárka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share both your positive experience and negative impressions. Since every guest feedback is very important to us, your review is highly valued and appreciated. First of all, I am glad that you found our breakfast great and that you liked the service as well. I am also happy to read that you liked our nice and central location. We all know about the faults you mentioned and we can assure you that the following investment will be definitely the renovation of our rooms. Our aim is to satisfy our guests in every aspect so we do not skim over the details. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the lack of the warm water. We had a technical problem and we needed time to fix it. I am sorry oyu had to experience it. I do really hope that you will give us a second chance to better serve you and make your next visit more enjoyable. Sincerely, Boglárka Győrfi on behalf of Danubius Hotel Flamenco
4 out of 5
by Loai

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback of out hotel. Kind regards, Éva Katona Reception
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A large and quite institutional place.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: It was easily found
Cons: The breakfast food was poor. Reminded me of when I was in the army. Some of the older serving staff appeared to regard customers as nuisances
Not expensive but neither should it be. Some of the furnishings and carpets were tired and shabby looking. The whole place would benifit from a thorough re-decoration
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Éva , Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you for taking your time to share your honest opinion about our hotel with us. Since every guest feedback is very important to us, your review is highly valued and appreciated. Please be informed that we are permanently renovating our hotel in an effort to improve our services. I hope that during your next stay you can check our improvements. Kind regards, Éva Katona Reception
4 out of 5
by Margaret

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoy this hotel when traveling to Budapest. I found during this stay the hotel no longer offers coffee in the lobby for guests. It may not be a big deal buts it one basic treat in the morning I enjoyed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017
Dear Margaret, thank very much you for your comment. The mentioned offer is unfurtunately from the 1.of January this year no more available according to a company decision, but we kindly inform you that from 7 to 10 we serve buffet breakfast in our restaurant and coffee is also available in the lobby bar from 8 o'clock every morning, but not for free. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit Budapest. Kind regards, Éva Katona Reception
3 out of 5
by Madjid

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017
Dear Madjid, It is always a great pleasure to receive feedbacks from our former guests. Hope your travel plans bring you back to Budapest soon! Kind regards,