Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Helpful and friendly staff...accessible

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very willing to give you directions to your destination. The bus stop is just a few steps away from the entrance. The room is large and very spacious.
4 out of 5
by Dhiren

Nice stay

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, nice location. Excellent food, This was my second visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Dhiren, Thank you for sharing your experience. It's always a pleasure to welcome returning guests. It's nice to see that you are satisfied with our hotel and our services. We hope we can welcome you soon again in our hotel. Best regards, The team of Hotel Charles***
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Nice hotel on the Buda side of the city

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: They had nice big rooms with good beds, great breakfast and a very nice service staff.
Cons: Not to charge extra for the A/C, it should be included in the room price.
Location: You have to go by bus the city, the location is close to the center but one must take public transport or go by car.
A lovely hotel with good service with nice rooms and good breakfast. The restaurant serves gourmet food for lunch and dinner which I took on my one night stay. Free wifi is included but they charged me extra for using the A/C which was unpleasent surprise since this was not informed on expedia when I booked the room. Otherwise everything was tip top and the staff very nice and helpful with everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Hotel Charles***, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It’s a pleasure to see your high scores as a sign of your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel. Best wishes, The team of Hotel Charles***
5 out of 5
by ROBERT

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance of Budapest attractions. The service was also very good. The breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It's a pleasure to see your opinion about our hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the meal you had here. We are really looking forward to see you again. Best regards, The team of Hotel Charles***
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Hotel was nice and clean but no air con in the room so had to have the window open through the night. This made it very noisy with the passing trains and on a busy road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
The hotel maximum 2 Star The bathroom is very old
4 out of 5
by Conrad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent Value for Money

Posted Apr 9, 2017
This hotel is on a Main Street with direct access to public transport. It's four stops by bus to the major tourist attractions. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchenette. This was well maintained and spotless. The only drawback is that you cannot open the windows at night because of traffic noise but we kept the bathroom window open to let air in. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want value for money and somewhere that is near all attractions. I will definitely use this again if I return to Budapest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Kat, Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. It's pleasing to see that you were satisfied with our staff and your room. Next time you visit us please ask for a room that faces the courtyard so traffic noises can be avoided. We hope we can welcome you soon again as our guest. Best wishes, The team of Hotel Charles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, usa

A bit old-fashioned, and in Budapest, that's nice!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
My second stay at Hotel Charles was as fine as my first two years ago. Many helpful employees to help you with anything, a fantastic breakfast buffet and a great restaurant for dinner too. Rooms are larger than more modern hotels and give a nice retro feel. Even the keys are attached to large metal plaques to remind you to return them to the desk when you go out.. The location is just a 15 minute bus ride away from the center which probably helps their rates be quite a bargain. The bus that deposits you right at the lobby entrance runs reliability every 10 minutes till about 11:30PM every night. No taxis necessary unless it's your preference. There's a large modern shopping center about three blocks away. And the large, attractive windows actually open a little or a lot, your preference. I'll return for another stay here and in exciting Budapest as soon as I can!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It's pleasing to read that you were satisfied with our hotel, with its services and also with the meals you had in our restaurant. We hope we can welcome you soon again as our guest. Kind regards, The team of Hotel Charles
4 out of 5
by anthony

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
staff very friendly place clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Monika, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff and also with the room you stayed in. We hope we can welcome you soon again as our guest. Kind regards, The team of Hotel Charles