Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, England

Conveniently situated near main rail station

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Good location in Geneva with very friendly and courteous staff. Room was quiet.
Cons: English language TV channels kept dropping out making them impossible to watch. Perhaps add some hot food options at breakfast. Separate shampoo/soap
Location: Good bar just opposite hotel and restaurants nearby. Easy walk to lake and old town. Also very handy for buses, trams and trains.
Hotel is in a good location near Cornavin for bus, tram and rail connections. As with all Geneva hotels you get a free pass for the transport system which means getting around is simple and free. The hotel is an easy walk to the lake and the old town. There are restaurants / bars near the hotel. Staff were excellent and very friendly. The hotel feels a little "tired" and could do with a revamp here and there. The breakfast was fine - no hot food but reasonable choice of cereals, meat, cheese, bread etc. My booking had breakfast included. WiFi was fine although I only used a phone so didn't really test the speed for downloading.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well placed next to bus,tram,train station.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Hotel is near bars and restaurants. Transport around Geneva is free for tourists which partially mitigates sky high price of food and drink. Don't miss Patek Phillips exhibition or cable car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

High quality hotel near the station.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Better soundproofing and larger rooms.
Location: Easy to reach the station and the old town and lake.
The hotel is very clean and well maintained and the staff provide excellent service and are very friendly. It is very convenient for the main station and an easy walk into the old town. The only drawbacks are that the room was very small and there was a lot of noise from people hanging about in the street outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, very friendly staff.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and room.
Cons: Breakfast could have been more exciting, there was enough to have but lack of choice.
Location: Located near Cornavin station and short walk to town centre and old town.
Lovely hotel closely located near to Cornavin station and a short walk (approx. 15mins) from the shopping street and old part of town. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, recommended a lovely and reasonably price restaurant, looked after bags for the day and gave directions. Room was warm, comfortable and clean, small but well decorated with cupboard for storage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, really convenient to everything

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Wonderful stay, friendly & helpful staff. The only thing missing was an English breakfast !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha

One night stayover

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: It was in Geneva...
Cons: Parking should be compensating at 100%.
Location: Great area for walking around. CERN particle accelerator is very close.
I only realized at the last minute that we didn't have accommodations booked for our first night in Switzerland. I went online and booked the Best Western by the downtown Geneva train station. The online photographs of the room and lobby did not represent reality. The main room and the bathroom were exceedingly small to the point of being difficult to navigate around. I am used to a larger style Best Western room. I am okay with a smaller room but it would be nice if the photos represented this. Also, the advertised breakfast buffet was actually just a continental breakfast. This was disappointing. Again the online information was misleading. Another major disappointment was the expense of parking. Parking was advertised to be 'not' included so we were expecting that, but we were not expecting to have to pay 53 Swiss Francs for one night parking at the train station. The 30% discount ticket given to us at the front desk did not work in the ticket kiosk and there was nobody there to speak to about it. This brought the total expense for the hotel up to about $165 US Dollars. The staff were friendly though and the room itself was clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel supplies discount coupon and parking.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Is close to shopping, train station and parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, close to station

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, helpful staff and reasonable breakfast included. Downside was Geneva itself. After the main attractions which could be visited in a day nothing much else to do in the city itself. Also extremely expensive to eat and drink out, much more than even London. On the plus side the free transport was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Geneva weekend

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Staff were excellent, friendly & helpful. We had a standard twin room so facilities were basic.
Cons: The bed & pillow was not comfy but we were too tired to do something about it
Location: CERN, Catherdral, Fountain - which was closed assumed for maintenance :(, Nations building, broken chair, Uni Bastion (great sound/light show), & more
Booked this weekend in Geneva for my teenage son so who missed out on an expensive school trip to CERN. CERN is well worth a visit for all tourists. Location of Best Western Strasborg hotel is perfect for access to popular tourist locations. Close to the main Gare du Cornavin tram/bus stops plus walking distance from train station so easy to get to/from airport. Look up information on FREE public transport - we didn't pay for any travel for the whole weekend. Public transport system was easy to access, get your head around and enables you to see more. Just note that a lot of shops, cafes, restaurants are closed on Sunday
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Location is the only good

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Right outside train terminal so really usefull if you are going just to spend the night or walk around the city. Its a nice area, safe with many pleaces to eat around. Room has safe and minibar. Staff is nice and polite. They answer quickly my questions via email prior to my arrival.
Cons: No amenities, shower gel/shampoo/hand soap all the same. Noisy, sooo noisy. I could hear the entire conversation of the people next door. Does not have AC, even though was november it was so hot but you couldn't open the window because of the street noise. Bed was not comfortable. Breakfast was just poor. The maid kept touching my door even with the "Do not disturb" sign hanging on the door.
Location: Great location