Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall ok, BUT...

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Overall, the hotel is nice: good location, clean, stylish. However, two things were disturbing. 1. In the bathroom there was mold on the window sealing. 2. The staff did some mistake when assigning the rooms. I had just check-in, was lying in my bed watching a movie and suddenly the door opened, and another guest came in. Apparently, the hotel had given that guest the same room as me. Something like this should not happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portola Valley, United States of America

Convenient and clean

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Location: On a quiet street just off Rue de Lausanne, convenient to the train station, restaurants, & supermarkets.
My room was of course compact by American standards but spotless and quiet. The fitness room has a treadmill, elliptical, 2 stationary bikes, 3 weight stations, and free weights, all in perfect shape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not too far from station and lake.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Great hotel with really friendly staff, in particular one very kind lady who ordered taxis for me and helped me navigate around the city. She ensured I had a comfortable stay. She 100% gave me a 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The room was great, spacious and comfortable.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Big T V. Englishovie channel. Was fun.
Located well. Within walking distance to everything. On a quiet street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

Clean and good value and Central location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Unavailability of English tv channels, lack of information about the facilities before arrival, the loud noise of the air conditioning system.
Location: There's not a lot to do in Geneva and it's closed on Sundays so 2 full days was at least a day too long! We caught a train to Montreux for one day.
On the positive side the room was clean and comfortable, and less than a 10 minute walk to Geneva's main train station. There was a gym and sauna and a hammam which we didn't know about when booking via Expedia so it was a shame we didn't have our gym gear. On the negative side the English tv channels were scrambled and when I asked what we needed to do to view them, the receptionist just said "sorry I don't know" and that was the end of it! Also we needed the aircon on through the night as it was so warm, but the noise of water gurgling really loudly in the aircon system woke us up at least hourly. The reception staff were efficient but we had to ask for what information we needed such as a local map, how to access the health facilities, whether we could leave our luggage after checking out til later in the day, etc, nothing was volunteered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprised by hotel's interior.. much nicer than I

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Good enough to stay again . Location was convenient for the train station. Side road seemed quiet but not the most obvious place for a hotel. Newer interior and quite comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
A good place to stay. Everything is rather new. Very quiet despite in the city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, small boutique hotel near train station.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Given that this is not billed as a luxury hotel, I was satisfied with everything provided.
Location: Walk along the beautiful lake promenade, walk to old city (15 min.); take a boat trip to Lausanne, watch the jet d'eau (457' high), art museum.
I liked this hotel - small, clean, tastefully modern, quiet, an accommodating staff, and close enough to the main attractions that you can walk to them all. By the way, the hotel (like most), gives you a "pass" card for all the public transportation including the train to and from the airport. A good breakfast is available as well. Hotel is a bit less than a 10 minute walk from the rail station (as you come out of the rail station go left, straight up Rue Lausanne) on a quiet side street (Rue Ferrier, left off Lausanne - there's a sign for it), with some good restaurants nearby - a Thai, an Indian, and a very good Italian restaurant just down the street toward the rail station on Rue Lausanne. The neighborhood is also ethnically diverse, but I always felt safe even in the late evening. Room was for a single, so not large, and very clean. The A/C was excellent (and needed since it can be hot in Geneva), bed was like a double, bathroom quite adequate, though the shower was a bit tight (no, I'm not a large person), but worked fine. In all I was very pleased with this hotel and would return (in fact I stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip). Geneva is a beautiful, diverse city - enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasing

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, the staff and the design of the room, which is simple but well-appointed.
Location: Geneva has peculiarities: one of them is Pâquis, the area where the hotel is located, a busy, commercial one during the day, but... (see above)
I booked this hotel during some extremely busy days in Geneva (Aviation Congress, so I was told). There was a problem with the booking when I arrived, but I have to say the receptionist was very helpful and thanks to her initiative _ which also included the kindness of a guest, who agreed to change room with me _ everything was solved. So, one big compliment to the staff of this hotel (the other receptionist was also very kind). Besides, in spite of a not very charming appearance from the outside, the hotel facilities are quite comfortable and very clean. And my room was quiet, which is something I really appreciate. I will also make comments about the location of the hotel, since there is little room in the form for that. Geneva has its peculiarities: one of them is Pâquis, the area where the hotel is located, as well as many other hotels. It is a busy commercial area during the day (banks, consulates, etc), very convenient to the train station (a five-minute walk) and also a walking distance from Geneva's highlight, the beautiful lake with the "jet d'eau"; but it can be tricky at night. It may look deserted and one street (nearer the train station) is not family-oriented... Luckily Design Hotel is farther of that than other hotels in the area. On the other hand, Pâquis hosts some street festivals during the year and it is very popular, so it can be interesting, too. Finally, enjoy your visit and the transportation pass, a real nice gift Geneva offers to all tourists!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value near station

Posted May 26, 2016
Very good value for a simple hotel near the train station. Immaculately clean, good wifi and very friendly staff. Room was well equipped and had free tea/coffee and an in-room safe. The location was quiet (off the main street and with no noise from the trains).