Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by BT from Norfolk England

Ok but shame about the view

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff at reception were really helpful.
Cons: State more clearly which room and what you are getting for your money when you research the hotel.
Location: All lovely. The town and surroundings are really nice and everyone we met was so friendly. We will be back to Divonne fairly soon and frequently.
Hotel ok but we understood we would have a balcony. It was a ground floor apartment with a bank and a hedge and a car park for a view from a small terrace. Really disappointing. Hotel du Lac is a misnomer as the lake was not even in view. Our weekend there was busy as we were out with members of our family most of the time. It would have been nice to sit on a balcony with a view for breakfast and in the evening. We did not feel secure being at ground level and did not feel like sitting outside on the terrace as anyone could have walked along outside from the car park. My daughter lives in Divonne and I want to stay somewhere next time I come but it wont be Hotel Du Lac.
3 out of 5
by perso

pour court séjour une semaine mx.. qualité/prix ok

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: le SPA, peu fréquenté au moment de la location.
Cons: propreté de la chambre et la literie
Location: pour sportif : le lac et ses infracstructures ; le tour du lac réservé exclusivement aux sports ( marche, vélo, skate, pèche.... : pas de voitures
aucun souci majeur...personnel de l'hôtel accueillant et à l'écoute
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location and facility not what I expected

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Check-in staff was friendly
Cons: We overslept our checkout time and when we received a call, the checkout staff were pretty mean.
Location: Nature trails, but I would book on Lake Geneva itself, which is what I thought I was doing when I booked this one.
First, the lake pictured with the hotel is NOT Lake Geneva, which is several miles away. Second, if you get the apartment, it is several hundred feet away from the hotel so the facilities there will not be useful.
4 out of 5
by Alex

Hotel close to Palexpo Geneve

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: I enjoyed the location the most and the gym.
Cons: French attitudes.
Location: Close to Geneva Palexpo.
Pleasant hotel in Divonne near Geneva. For French standards it was nice - but still frustrating because it is expensive for what you get. But this is how Geneva and the surrounding areas work - when there is a big tradeshow in town the prices sky rocket. The hotel did have a very small gym which was nice despite the occasional ant making its way across the room. The breakfast was nice though not free as would be assumed since nothing was ever mentioned during check in. Unlike the website would lead you to believe there is NO wifi in the rooms, only in lobby. You have to sign up for this service in the lobby as well which then registers you and emails you a username and a password - are we not in the year 2013? Why so difficult?! I was not sent my password until 2 days later and the receptionist could not get a username and paassword for me. I stood at check out for 30 minutes before i simply left...
3 out of 5
by Andrew from England, UK

Family stop off near Geneva

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Spa pool
Cons: Decor and lack of proper oven in apartments
Location: Set back from small lake. Pleasant and quiet.
A useful find, this hotel has a series of small apartments that can be booked from one night upwards. Good for a family stopover near Geneva, although the property is actually in France. The apartments are decent, but dated and the decor is a bit tired in some areas. The spa pool in the hotel is great and children are allowed in, but only at specfic fixed times. Food in the restaurant was decent, although it was a bit slow. The town has limited facilities.
2 out of 5
by Simi from London, UK

Do NOT stay in the apartments.

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Staff and pool
Cons: Room
The main hotel building and pool area is perfectly fine but the apartments where we stayed were GRIM. Although clean it smelled bad was dark and the decor was depressing. That said the staff were lovely and helpful and the little town is close and fun to explore. Be advised although it is only 15 mins from Geneva it is a 70 euro can ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its fine, you get what you pay for

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: Helpful smiley front desk staff
Cons: A bit too bare bones functional apartment accommodation than what I'm used to, only one coin wash machine in operation - other broken on my stay
Location: Next to lake and Forestland activity park (fab!), easy driving distance to Geneva, Gruyere, Annecy, Mont Blanc - just more or less than an hour
Stayed in one bed apartment (family of 4, kids 7 and 4) with sofa bed in the living area for 6 nights end of August. For price and rating, accommodation was fine. Would not go as far as saying good, but was as expected after reading other reviews. Clean enough, apart from sofa bed sheets having a couple of minor stains and some mildew in the corner of the bath-shower. Aircon worked which was a relief as the week was hot. Kitchen was properly stocked with cups, plates, cutlery, cooking pans etc. But as per other reviews you'd be wise to bring bin-lining plastic bags and other household items to save going out to buy overstock of them (some dishwasher tabs, washing/wiping sponges, shampoo/conditioner/body soap - there was one tiny bottle provided and a couple of small bars of soap). Did not use restaurant, bought bread from local bakery 5mins walk away,other bits from supermarket 5mins drive away. The apartment blocks lack any character or views of the surrounding, but we found the location great for summer - assuming you have a hired car. You can walk to the neighbouring lake which has a paid private beach with paddle boats and a separate multi-person bike hire place (we hired an 8 person peddle bike thing which was fantastic fun going around the lake), there is 'Forestland' activity park also within walking distance which has fantastic tree climbing adventure courses suitable for 4 years to adult (I enjoyed all of them!) and elastic chord trampoline, bouncy castle play etc.
5 out of 5
by Phill from Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Would definitely stay again

Posted Jun 3, 2012
Pros: Proximity to the lake
Cons: Only two mugs for tea / coffee in the room
Location: Right by the lake in Divonne-les-bains, you could not get closer.
The spa facilities are excellent with a wide variety of options, although under 16s are not allowed in the spa. The restaurant was also very good and offered great views. Our rooms were in the residence and all had views over the lake, and were perfectly located for a walk into town or down to the lake. We were in Divonne for a wedding and found it very relaxing place to stay. The residence also provides good cooking facilities including a toaster, hobs and microwave and all the cookware you could need. However only two mugs are provided so if you have guests in the hotel make sure they bring them too! There are plenty of glasses and cutlery though so its not really an issue, especially as the rooms were excellent and secure. Finally we found the staff very helpful, organising taxis and letting us book in slightly earlier than normal, etc... they really do try and help when they can. I just wish we had had more time to explore both Divonne and the facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Villa du Lac & Spa

Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels
Really nice place close I geneva or nyon but without the nasty price tag.. Nice people handy to the motorway and good facilities. we stayed in the 1 room apartment and it had all the usual home away from home stuff Would happily recommend
4 out of 5
by Hans-Joerg from Ratingen, Deutschland

Schönes Hotel am Rande von Divonne

Posted Aug 26, 2010
Hotel wirkt teilweise etwas nüchtern und lieblos; Zimmer sind jedoch modern, sauber und von ordentlicher Größe. Parkplätze direkt am Haus Kleines aber feines Schwimmbad mit Wirlpool und diversen Sprudeldüsen im Becken; massage und hammam möglich Frühstück in Divonne selbst besser und preiswerter zu erhalten; Barbetrieb im Hotel optimierbar. Essen im Hotel war gut; Preis/Leistung noch akzeptabel